Short Break for Self Love

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago (edited)

meditation2.jpg

I am taking a short break from Steemit for some much needed self care. I suffer from anxiety and have panic attacks at times. I won't get into the details but something set me off at the beginning of August and it became clear to me that I really needed to take some time to clear my mind and take care of myself mentally.

Can't Catch My Breath

In the past, when I could tell anxiety was setting in, the first thing I noticed was my breath became short and shallow. It made me feel like I couldn't catch my breath no matter what I did. I knew deep breathing was supposed to help with anxiety and panic attacks, but every time when I tried to take deep breaths, my chest became tighter and caused the panic to set in even more. The more I tried, the worse it felt. I stopped thinking deep breathing could help me at all. It just seemed like a myth on the internet.

meditation1.jpg

Have I Been Breathing Wrong for 40 Years?

A couple of weeks ago when something set me off, I could tell I was in a really bad place mentally and might even be on the edge of freaking out. I was desperate to feel better and shake away this dark cloud over my head. Pharmaceutical drug is not an option. I read that yoga and meditation are very useful tools to control anxiety because they can help you break a habit of anxiety breathing by increasing the awareness of how you breath. I decided to spend some time watching videos on meditation, yoga, vagus nerve and deep breathing.

I have always read that with deep breathing, when you inhale, your diaphragm or belly will move. And, by breathing deeply, you can stimulate the Vagus nerve which can reduce stress, anxiety, anger, and inflammation by activating the "relaxation response" of the parasympathetic nervous system. I never really understood this completely until I watched this short video below.
white_space.jpg


white_space.jpg

Belly Breathing Exercise

How do you know if you are breathing properly? Do this belly breathing exercise. s

  1. Find a comfortable position. You can be sitting, standing or laying down.
  2. Put one hand on your belly and the other hand on your chest.
  3. Keep your mouth closed and inhale slowly through your nose by pushing your stomach out. The movement of your stomach precedes the inhalation by just the tiniest fraction of a second, because it's this motion which is pulling the air in. When you've inhaled as much air as you can comfortably (without throwing your upper body into it), just stop. You're finished with that inhale.
  4. Pause briefly for whatever time feels comfortable. However, be aware that when you breathe this way, you are taking larger breaths than you're used to. For this reason, it's necessary to breathe more slowly than you're used to.
  5. Open your mouth. Exhale through your mouth slowly by pulling your belly in.
  6. Repeat 4 to 10 times.

It can help by watching this demonstration video before doing the belly breathing exercise on your own.
white_space.jpg


white_space.jpg

Practicing yoga, meditation and deep breathing have really helped me mentally the last coupe of weeks. I have personally experienced the calming effect of deep breathing and the relaxation response when the vagus nerve is stimulated. I am in a better place now. I will continue to take time for self love and to remind myself to breath deeply and to let go.

white_space.jpg
Thank you for stopping by and for taking the time to read.

Do you suffer from anxiety or panic attacks? What do you do to get better? Please share your experience. I would love to hear from you.

white_space.jpg


white_space.jpg

Sort:  

We all need to peel ourselves away from social media sometimes and really get back to square. I, too, struggle with anxiety and I wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy. I hope your time to yourself is fruitful and refreshing! I need to take your advice here as much as anyone. I've had some flooding issues here that have led to my family being displaced for two weeks already. As much as I want to break from this place, at the same time I feel like I am where I need to be. It's a strange mix of emotions 😂

Sending good vibes your way, @thelaundrylady, and some much deserved support. Don't run off for too long, we need to clone people like you 😋

Thank you for the kind words! Not unless you struggle with anxiety, you really wouldn't understand what it can do. I am sorry you understand what it does. Taking this time to care for my needs is one of the best things I have done for my sanity. We are always so available to everyone else, but we really need to do the same for ourselves. I am sorry to hear about the flooding issues that have displaced your family. Really hope it gets solved soon, so your lovely family can be back to normal again.

I know what you mean about the strange mix of emotions. Steemit is such an amazing community. I have received lots of messages in discord and help & light from everyone. I feel so much love is coming my way. It is something I truly appreciate! Thank you for the good vibes. I am super grateful we crossed paths :-)

I won't pretend to understand, but my spouse has suffered from it in the past. Specifically, she will get to the point that she cannot breathe. The last time it got that bad, the hospital had to sedate her. As Brandon wrote, I wouldn't wish that nightmare on even an enemy. My struggles are different. We all have struggles too. I do not define my friends by the demons they struggle with either, and I hope they do the same for me.

Sounds like your spouse suffered major anxiety issues. I am not quite as bad. I have never been hospitalized for it, but I sympathized with her. I know it can feel like fish out of water unable to breath. It really is not something people can't understand unless they have gone through it themselves.

You are right. We all have different struggles. True friends will never judge or define you by the demons you struggle with.

You know... Your reply reminded me of my former brother-in-law, Rick Cimpher. He trained with the British Commandos and was a father figure for me when I was a teen. He taught me how to fish, shoot, etc. My sister ruined his life though. He got hooked on crack and died of a heart attack in his late 40's. He had weaknesses, but I will never forget what he did for me. I highly respected him. He was dealt a really crappy hand though, and people kept breaking his heart.

Every warrior has their strengths and weaknesses. As long as they're a warrior, their particular weaknesses don't make them less in my eyes. I'll do everything I can to help them too.

I know what iy feels like to be a fish out of water! I hope u get the deep relaxation u need and find ur breath again soon! Exercise realllly helped me, and eft also can help .. much love to u xx

Thank you so much @eco-alex. I am sure as I get deeper into meditation, I will be asking you more questions. I am so glad you are able to breath much better now. Your story put a smile on my face when I was reading it.

I am trying EFT at moment. I will message you on Discord later today xxx

You are such an amazing human being! I just want to make sure the whole world knows this.

Your writing truly touches my heart. Love

You are so sweet to say that. Humbled. Right back at you, gorgeous soul!!!

awesome concept..i like it thanks for share..

Thank you for stopping by

Congratulations @thelaundrylady! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @thelaundrylady! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @thelaundrylady! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @thelaundrylady! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!