I Couldn't Believe What I was Reading!

in #nature4 years ago

109907061_10223912666550294_7861276088382714368_o.jpg

ertyhteres.JPG

Sometimes in life, things really P*ss Me off, and when something has to die for no reason that is one of them.

As a lover of nature, animals, and insects I have in the past joined groups to try and do my bit for the world.

Today, my wife brought to my attention that someone had found a caterpillar on a tomato plant, (pictured, Photo from Facebook)

The lady asked what it was and how to get kill it, I couldn't believe what I was reading, so I offered to take it of her hands, the problem was she lives in the USA and is a little out of my reach.

But as I was reading through the comments more and more people were telling her to kill it and giving her ideas on how to do it.

Why as humans does it have to come to kill something? why can't we just take it from where it is and relocate it?

There is nothing stopping her from getting a jar and taking it to a field where it can live a life.

Or even leaving it on that one plant that has been destroyed and letting it get to adulthood.

There is already a shortage in our insects, and if the rate drops to nothing then there will be nothing pollinating our crops which means we will be going hungry.

Moth caterpillars are just as important as butterfly caterpillars and I for one, when I get my butterfly house up and running, will be offering to rehome any caterpillars of any type.

I feel like I can do my bit for mother nature.

Sort:  

Because humans are mean and like to show they are the bosses in this world.
I hate moths... I ready do. But they don't bother me if they don't get inside. And even then I would catch it and let it go outside.
And the caterpillars are actually very pretty!

Planning to have a butterfly house? That is cool! :D

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 27/45)

You know @ewkaw your so right, if everyone did the same there would be so many more. there is no harm in releasing them, and they only live for a few days/weeks before its the end for the lives anyway.

The butterfly house is a work in progress, I have the tunnel, I just cant afford the plastic to go over it yet, I have been saving for ages but then a bill came a long and I had to use it to pay for that.

Once I have the money and I can put a plastic cover over the top it will be ready, I am going to offer to collect all caterpillars that are classed as a pest from people, then at least it gives these creatures a chance in life.

I have a passion for butterflies and I think that if we don't do something to save them now we will be in a worse place in the future.

Someone predicted in a news article that if all the pollinators were to die, it would be an £18 billion pound industry to pay people to do it instead of the insects that do it for free. the maths to me makes my brain hurt, but still, people decided to kill these little things because to us they are classed as a pest.

I also see no real reason to kill them, although that is a Hawkmoth caterpillar and they probably feed specifically on nightshade family plants so cannot simply be relocated. Caterpillars that size are pretty voracious and can completely strip a plant of leaves, I get the odd one on my tomatoes from time to time but I leave them be. There are enough bird and insect predators in my garden to control them

Thats a good way of seeing things, let nature take its course, there is no need to kill something just because..
There is that many getting killed that it is so sad that as humans we just see something we don't want and end it's life.
There are places that take caterpillars in this country so if we found something we can always send it them.

I think the main problem is not even people killing the ones that get inside the house or try to feed in the garden. It is the pollution, pesticides and changing the natural habitats. If some feed on specific plant growing in a specific place and suddenly that place becomes an urban park at best with perfectly cut grass instead of a lawn full of blooming weeds, they will die. Some might adapt, most probably wont.

Congratulations @artonmysleeve! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 comments. Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!