I just found out why our parrot was having nervous breakdown for two days

in #nature3 years ago

I just found out why our parrot was having nervous breakdown for two days. He was edgy, scared and protective over his cage constantly covering it with wings and looking all over the floor inspecting for danger.

I saw nothing but a parrot continued being obnoxious jerk - wolf-whistling and landing on my head - so I had to place him inside of his stand and cover him with a cloth.

This usually calms a scared flying poultry, but parrot was still chirping and continuously producing a set of noises that I didn't hear till now.

Late afternoon I sat down on PC and I was so focused that I didn't even noticed what was happening right in front of my hand.

While on PC I felt something attached on my hand which I use to hold PC mouse and surf.

I looked down and I thought that I'm hallucinating because it was completely unexpected. At first I thought it was a piece of paper ... but then it moved, quickly ran and hid under the closet next to my table.

For ten seconds I was like... what a hell just happened. Was that a lizard?

We have lizards but not the ones that look like that - short, stubby, wide head and golden yellow body not even 2 inches long...

I don't remember I ever saw a gecko, maybe once on the south during the summer a very long time ago and never this north or in the town.

This animal is not really native to the northern cities of my country, it is too cold for them and environment is not friendly.

But that gecko was colored tan, darker with patters, it was not golden and it did not look like this.

I am not sure if it is someone's escaped pet or how it even ended up in here. We live a few stories above the very busy street, windows are mostly shut and surfaces on this side of a building are steep and smooth.

I assume it was attracted by the warmth, possibly very hungry and thirsty. Geckos eat insects predominantly, and I did noticed that somehow moths that were attacking parrots seeds are missing...

I guess a parrot felt threatened because an unknown creature "attacked" his territory.

By the way parrot who is usually sitting right next to me while I am typing stopped screaming when I noticed the intruder. My reaction was not negative so he concluded by observing my reaction that a creature is not dangerous.

I have no idea why or how would a wild lizard climb my hand in the first place.

It produces clacking and gnarling sounds which I mistook for some irrelevant ambient noise either from outside or from neighbors. Parrot has much better hearing so he went ballistic.

I have to find a way to leave a food and water for it, and warm it or it will die as temperatures are already getting low. It is small and I think it is very young.

I will leave a glass jar with folded edge under my table filled up with grated apples. I found online that a glass bottle or similar filled with fruit may attract gecko inside but because of the steep and folded glass edges it will not be able to climb back out. That is the most gentle way to capture a gecko. I can't move the furniture in pursuit, I might squash a little creature.

Once I have him safe I will see what kind of an accommodation I can provide for him. Geckos need a terrarium ( or at least a big enclosed plastic box to be safe at), heating lamp, insects and fruit to eat, water and stuff to hide under.

I will post if I manage to settle a little lizard into safety.


cover image source