Green soldiers between the rocks

in #nature4 years ago (edited)

When I was a little girl, at my home there were always dried bouquets, arranged by my mother in glass vases. It was over 30 years ago. And I was so surprised when, during one of my walks, I found one of the most popular plants used in dried bouquets at that time. I remember they were dyed different colors, effective but lifeless. And now I found them in a beautiful green color of life! I have never seen them growing in nature; it was such a strange feeling... As if they were something unnatural :)

It was one of those magical moments when something completely ordinary delights us, stops us, carries our memories back into the past.

I don't even know what the plant is called... but it's beautiful! The first thing that came to my mind when I looked at them was "green soldiers". And I couldn't get the name out of my head anymore.

It seems they were finishing to bloom, next year I will visit this place a little earlier... I would like to see them all covered with a purple coat.

I found them in a small inanimate nature reserve "Bonarka" in the middle of my city Krakow. It's located on the site of a former quarry and is often visited by geology students. Right next to it is a busy street and a large shopping center. It is a kind of a basin, so you can not see many signs of civilization from here, but you can hear the noise coming from the street all the time.

I read on the information board that this place was the bottom of the sea millions of years ago :)

I was looking for fossils, but only found lots of live snails. Another manifestation of life were the swarms of mosquitoes, because the area is wet, and it has been raining a lot recently.

It's a small area, enough for a short walk, and as you can see, It's not possible to completely forget about civilization in this place.

Anyway, I'm glad that there are even small protected places, the last bastions of nature. It turns out that there is still something new to discover, even if it's just an ordinary plant, a memory from the past.