Pinching The Queen Bee - Requeening Feels So Wrong

in #nature5 years ago

Over the last 7 years I've been on a journey to become a beekeeper. All along I've questioned my skills, abilities and desire to do this for the long haul. I think all of that prevented me from truly enjoying the process and kept me from really being a beekeeper.

Now, I think often about the process, the adventure and the amazing organism that a bee colony is. I dream of getting back out there to see what the bees have to teach me next. I desire to learn more, to understand how and why the bees do what they do.

I still question my skills and ability, but no longer question my desire. I believe I am a beekeeper.

In Texas, sometimes, the bees get "angry" or "hot". These are terms used to describe a hive that is overly defensive, aggressive and dangerous. Right now I have one of those hives.

These are the times when you must change the genetics in the hive. The most common way to do that is to kill the queen and introduce a new queen. This is commonly called REQUEENING the hive. In this video I am challenged with that task. Join me.



Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!



Sort:  

Pretty cool, but i don't think i could handle bees crawling on me! Eek!

Congratulations @daddykirbs! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @daddykirbs! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!