My First Tomato Plant!

in #nature3 years ago (edited)

Lately, I've been extremely interested in gardening and taking care of my own crops. I have all sorts of different fruits, and today I want to showcase my first tomato plant (moneymaker variety). To be honest, I'm not a huge fan of tomatoes unless its fried, turned into a paste or a sauce for pasta, and of course some ketchup, but I know many people in my family, and some of my friends, enjoy some tomatoes.

IMG_20210430_095726_DRO.jpg

I'm not entirely sure when I started growing this one, but its been roughly a little over a month (I want to say). It honestly had surprised me because I tried to grow tomatos from store bought tomatoes and that didn't work too well for me. I decided to instead buy seeds from a local family owned nursery. They weren't the ones who produced the seeds, instead they got them shipped from another grower, either way, the seeds actually started to grow, and grow quickly they did.

IMG_20210430_095857_DRO.jpg

The excitement I feel when I see my plant really brings up my mood, especially now that I see some fruit being produced. It may need another month or so to fully ripen up but all in all I'm excited to try it out. Yes, I'll even taste it raw... with a little bit of salt or other flavorings so I can enjoy it more. lol

If you're unaware, Tomatoes are a great source of Vitamin K, Potassium, and of course Vitamin C to help defend yourself from nasty sicknesses. If you're ever out in the wilderness with no access to flowing natural water, you'd be surprised to know that tomatoes contain more than 90% water. Of course, I wouldn't be picky under those circumstances. I recommend you shouldn't be either :).

There's more for me to learn about this special plant, and lots for me to appreciate as well. Spaghetti and fresh tomato sauces here I come!

Sort:  

Awesome, thanks for sharing. Me and my wife just got into gardening this year. We are trying all kinds of vegetables, herbs, and flowers. We may have gone overboard with it, but we thought we'd try a lot of different things. Besides tomatoes like you, we also planted spinach, carrots, peppers, okra, onions, and cucumbers to name a few. And like you said there are some many healthy benefits to growing your own garden.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Not a bad assortment of crops. I generally want to focus on peppers (since I love them. lol). What's funny is that I have carrot seeds but I still haven't planted a single one... I really should do it some time soon however... EVENTUALLY!!! I'll get to them soon enough.

The best part of growing is that you know that you're growing natural (if you're not using harmful chemicals).

I'm excited to try these out and all the other crops you've been growing!

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Nice job, it is always great when you grow your own food.

good job! i used to love gardening, have to take it up again...

My only gripe with this is the quality of my cellphone camera... It's not really good. lol I started gardening a little over a year ago before the start of the pandemic and I've already learned a lot. I wasn't big on gardening before, I had a small bit of interest in it but I see now more than ever that it has become a necessary part of my life. Definitely take the time to come back to it if you get a chance!

!ENGAGE 30

maybe in future hive blogging can help you upgrade your phone :) gardening can be a calming activity, keep it up!! I've definitely learnt we need some distractions and interesting things to keep us occupied amid the ongoing pandemic.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.