Testing a New Lens in the Finnish Nature

in #nature3 years ago

orava300521.jpg

This weekend I added my dream 70-200mm lens into my camera bag and I'm so excited to shoot with it. I suspect it will be the lens I carry with me most of the time when I'm out and about, and then use the 24-70mm for most of the stuff indoors.

I got the lens yesterday and I've been exploring a bit of the early summer nature here in the the 65th parallel north with it. I'm no bird watcher but I did caught a few in my lens, along with other creepy crawlies and greenery.

Shot with the Nikon D750 and Nikkor 70-200mm F/2.8E FL ED VR.

räksä300521.jpg

lintujärvi+luontoajelu_29May2021_0010.jpg

lintujärvi+luontoajelu_29May2021_0069.jpg

lintujärvi+luontoajelu_29May2021_0037.jpg

lintujärvi+luontoajelu_29May2021_0046.jpg

lintujärvi+luontoajelu_29May2021_0075.jpg

lintujärvi+luontoajelu_29May2021_0071.jpg

lintujärvi+luontoajelu_29May2021_0038.jpg

Sort:  

Gotta love the zoom for outdoors and wildlife shots! Congrats!

Definitely! But it’ll take a bit of practise as the zoom ring is at the end of the lens, and focus closer to the body, usually it’s the other way around.

My Sony lenses are the same way. It's been so long since I've shot much that I had no trouble adjusting to it. and finding that I use the autofocus most of the time anyway. This camera allows me to re-program the buttons. I changed so I'm now using a button on the back to focus and the shutter button for shutter only. Really like this setup over the traditional half-push on the shutter button.

What is the benefit of using a back button focus? I have programmable buttons on the lens itself and I need to figure out what to do with them.

Back button focus is great for things that are moving.

These shots look really great!

Did I say great enough yet? Haha

It keeps the controls separate, allowing the shutter button to be used only for actually taking a shot. This way can can use the back button to change focus spot, or keep pressed on a moving subject to maintain focus adjustments while clicking shots at different subject locations. Try it, you'll like it! I fell in love with it in 5 minutes of use!

Those big zoom lenses get heavy in your bag after a while, you may go back to your primes.

Nice and sharp pictures, well done.

I’m used to the big stuff and I like it. If I don’t wanna carry something heavy, I leave my camera at home 😝

Kurre ja sääsket ja puinen polku! Upeita ekoja kokeilukuvia. Onneksi olkoon uudesta linssistä. :)