Getaway weekend to the Norwegian mountains - My kind of break

in #nature4 years ago (edited)

IMG_20200620_144758.jpg

While most of my friends are showing off their way too expensive boats and cabins by the sea, I've always had a thing for spending summer in the mountains.

First of all, it just makes me feel incredibly free. With thousands of kilometres of free and open spaces perfect for hiking. Second, it's so refreshing, and the temperatures really comforting, which makes it a great getaway from ordinary city life.

IMG_20200620_114030.jpg

Although today is more cloudy than when we arrived mid-day yesterday, it's still just as nice to go for a hike! Thus me and my dad, who turned 60 today, went out for a casual walk with Shiva to just talk life and enjoy the scenery around the cabin.

Despite it being June 20. there's still plenty of snow up in the height (around 900 metres above sea level). Shiva, like most dogs, loves the snow more than anything. And thus seeks the remnants of it like oasis in a desert. Mostly just to roll around and have the time of her life.

IMG_20200620_115904.jpg

Since my dad likes it simple and easy, we went for some outdoor grilling on the terrace for lunch afterwards.

IMG_20200619_184959.jpg

Again, while it costs so little, the experience is really amazing!

But while he so far had been getting the simplicity he asked for himself, what he doesn't know (yet) is that more of the family is about to arrive for a surprise party;)

Hope you're all having a great weekend!

Sort:  

You have rich friends!!!!

Do you guys celebrate Father's day this weekend as well? Must be great for your dad to have a double celebration. Happy birthday to your dad!!!

It's been the family's cabin and main retreat for about 12 years:).

We have the same concept of father and mother's day. But we never made anything out of it (my mum and dad both hate what they see as mostly a push from stores to have people spend money on unnecessary stuff😝)

And thanks! The day was a big success!

What a wonderful way to spend the weekend. The views are gorgeous! I'll bet the mountain air is fresh and beautiful.

Shiva looks very happy in the snow. My dog would do the same. She doesn't even seem to notice the cold beneath her feet.

I hope the surprise goes well! Happy 60th to him!

I know, right?! Love this place!
And it sure is. I've been saying all the time that every week spent walking and relaxing freely in the mountain makes you one month younger. Though perhaps not literally true, I think it is practically speaking.

And the evening was a big success!😁