Lions and Bears, Oh my!

in #nature4 years ago

My wife came home from the store today and was surprised to see a Bear playing outside our front door in the Koi Pond. It jumped out and ran off when her car drove in, leaving a wet trail across the driveway, and I just got a brief glimpse of it and no pic in the pond, but did catch it on the trail cam for a couple shots.

Bear1Deerfield20200625.jpeg

Educational blurb: Even though called Black Bears, they can be Black, Blonde, Cinnamon, or Brown. Contrary to what some folks think, Bears are not always nocturnal unless conditioned that way in urban areas to avoid people. They are often roaming about in the daytime. Be careful out there!
Bear2Deerfield20200625.jpeg

Exciting! We seem to have a lot more sightings in the neighborhood this year than in the last five. I'm hoping that's an increase, there's also been some increase in Mountain Lion sightings. I haven't got to see one of those in person yet, but hoping (just not too close or by surprise!).

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

I would have gone out there and shooed it away. Lol.

Well, they have gotten into the trash cans a few times. I think my wife is becoming more open to me "shooeing" them. lol I've always wanted a nice rug for in front of the fireplace!

Lol...So you got my meaning...I mean, I was worried you would have visions of me out there waving my arms saying ,shoo bear, shoo.

Oh yes, I think we are on the same page. We had a bear sighting two years ago, our first one here. I was looking out the kitchen window while taking my morning vitamins, thought I saw a deer, and then did a double take. Holy cow it was a bear! I went running up the stairs (I Don't run), which prompted my wife Des to jump up in bed, "What's wrong, What's wrong?" I said "There's a bear outside!" She says "Don't shoot it!, Don't shoot it!" lol, I say "Just getting the camera dear". Trying to get a picture. hehe, you both know me too well. But really, was just getting the camera. I wouldn't have had to run for a gun (wink).
K

Haha...Sneaky.

I guess they'd mess a person up if it wanted to right? I mean it's not a grizzly, but would still pack a wallop.

Oh yes, Black bears are much smaller than Griz (typical adults 150-275 lbs.) and not known for grabbing people, but average 5-10 people each year in the state that get injured by one. Generally from surprising a Mama and babies. Definitely would not want to tangle with one unarmed.

We don't have anything like that here. Sure, plenty of deadly things, but no big animals like that although the cassowary is pretty dangerous I guess. What we lack in bears, we make in other kill you dead animals.

It's green! 😮
Koi pond? Any koi left?? 😁 Am surprised you still had a steady hand to get these shots...

Well, I couldn't keep the Koi alive the previous two years, so we went with large fancy gold fish instead. There's 6 of them in the pond, but they are pretty good at hiding in the rocks and all survived. I don't think the bear was fishing (yet), just cooling off from the heat.

I have to admit the steady hand was from a trail cam capture, not handheld :)

Never saw one in the wild..let alone in my front yard...😀

Only my second time seeing in the wild. It's pretty cool. Put up a new outdoor cam last night and caught him at the pond again around 9pm. Looks like also got into our trash cans sometime after that. Had a good mess to clean up this am. Hopefully they don't become too much of a pest.