Weekend Woods Walk with Deer

in #nature4 years ago

Had a nice little walk today after all the rain yesterday and was able to see some young deer hanging out. They were just laying down until they heard my smartphone camera click, then stood up to check me out closer.
IMG_20200525_130918.jpg

IMG_20200525_130859.jpg

I'm lucky enough to see them frequently out here. Often within 15-20 yards of them without them getting spooked. My wife not so happy with them eating her new flowers! They completely cleaned off the two new rose plants she bought.

Pics shot with smartphone.

Sort:  

Always a thrill to see deer in the wild...😊

Yes indeed, never get tired of it.

Great shots! I had one in the yard last night stretched up licking up a sunflower seed snack from out of the bird feeder. Have you ever used Shake Away on the flowers? Sometimes it helps to keep them away, but I have to re-apply it frequently.

Cool, would like to see that pic if you caught it! Have never tried the Shake away, but will look for it. Someone else mentioned shaving off some bits of Irish Spring soap, but haven't tried that yet either.

No deer pic. It was too dark and when I clicked on the lights she left.
The soap didn't work for me, but Shake Away seems rather effective!
Thankfully!

Excellent captures and I commend your smartphone photography! How wonderful you were able to get up that close to the deer without them dashing off. Hoing for at least one spotted fawn to photograph!

Ive heard about the Irish Spring soap hack too -- supposedly only the original green bar works. Blood meal is my go-to deterrent for the unwanted herbivores that dine on my flowers & plants. To be honest, it's pointless for me to try saving the roses now because those scumbag Japanese beetles will be here in a couple weeks turning all the rose leaves into lace as they dine while mating.

Here's some info about blood meal:
https://www.gardenguides.com/can-use-blood-meal-repel-deer-eating-plants-9956.html

Thanks for the comments and suggestions! It is awesome getting that close to them on a regular basis here. I don't think we've had any problems with the beetles here so far, but will keep a look out for them.

It would be amazing to see those beautiful deer on a regular basis. I can see how your wife would get mad about them eating the flowers though!