Walking in Isolation - Coronapocolypse Edition

in #nature4 years ago

Staying Fit While Social Distancing

Like most people around the world, we are cooped up in the house due to the virus currently rampaging through society.

20200325_180415.jpg

However, the government recognizes that people need to exercise, so we are allowed to go for walks as long as we remain 6 feet away from other people.

20200325_180409.jpg

We have found that although we strictly follow this guideline, it is becoming increasingly difficult to avoid people because they can't seem to get with the program.

20200325_180353.jpg

We would move to one side of a path into the grass, and they would spread out and get closer to us.... WTF?

20200325_180355.jpg

Our solution has been to drive around, and keep driving until we find a place where there is no one in site. Today we got lucky at the San Pedro Marina.

20200325_173826.jpg
A chair someone carved out of a tree

We have taken to mostly avoid the walking paths completely, and just walking across fields and grass, since people can't seem to keep their distance.

20200325_175513.jpg

Sorry if I seem a bit frustrated in this post - perhaps I am a little! I feel like not enough people are taking this seriously.

20200325_180432.jpg

One thing that we've done at home is set up exercise stations around different rooms. Amanda is a trained fitness professional so she has designed a bunch of different exercises that we can do each time we enter a particular room.

20200325_182607.jpg

It's a little weird, I admit; but at least we can avoid getting overweight again while stuck in the house!

20200325_180257.jpg

Luckily it was a beautiful day and there was absolutely no one around. My friend Steve owns a boat that he keeps here. I keep think that if I had a boat right now, I think I'd be out on the water for most of the day - anywhere but stuck in my apartment in the middle of Los Angeles!

20200325_180330.jpg

Well, all we can do is take things one day at a time now. I will continue my walks as long as I can find isolated places to walk until all of this madness blows over. Until then, stay safe my friends!

20200325_173017.jpg

Sort:  

That's a very pretty place to walk. I know what you mean about people just not getting it. I had to threaten a guy at the store who kept on getting right into people's faces. And he had a mask on so was likely sick! I kinda think it's more that they don't care, than understand.

Keep walking and staying fit!

Geez, it's like people are profoundly selfish during a time when we should all be on the same page. This one dude on facebook that I know was posting conspiracy theories that the virus wasn't even real and that the government is using it to takeover. umm ok?

It's a pretty weird time right now for sure.

The "funnier" ones are the ones who claim the virus is man made and meant to keep us indoors.

Last I heard, man-made viruses were still viruses...

I know, right? It's like saying "Guns were designed to keep us under control, so if someone points a gun at me, I'll just ignore their commands."

Whatever the reason the virus is here, it's here so we have to do what we have to do to get through this!

When I went to the grocery store a couple of weeks ago, I had an older gentleman right on my back the whole time. No matter how much space I tried to give him, he kept being right on my tail.

"Can you believe people are being so rude?" He asked me in spanish. I just half smiled at him, grabbed the rest of my needs and got out of there as soon as possible.

We did a small grocery run at Ralph's a week ago and there was an elderly man in front of us, as well as one behind us. We were doing our best to keep our distance, but both the older guys were standing as close to us as possible. The guy behind me was even leaning on my cart.

Strangely it seems like the older people are even less cautious. It's insane!

We had to quit our walks. The nearby regional park (which is for the most part isolated) is closed, and everywhere else has too many people.

I don't want to drive anywhere, it seems that if we each stick to our micro communities, it makes it easier to contain. Besides, I don't want my kids touching any of the rails, I don't want to sit on the public benches, I don't want to track crap in my shoes, and bring it to my car. I don't want to overuse hand sanitizer and cause different types of problems down the road.

I know its a little paranoid, but, when you are getting calls from your Dr. telling you to prepare to give birth without a "support partner" it sobers you up a little. (Currently when giving birth, we can have the husband, partner or parent present, but I was instructed to be prepared for that changing, and giving birth with just me and the hospital staff - San Diego County).

Thankfully, yoga is a perfect indoor activity, and two of my kids are small enough to still be able to run my hallway chasing each, each pretending to be the coronavirus (while wearing a crown of course) and catching the other one.

Yeah a lot of dumb selfish people out there.. Years ago mostly the smart and strong survived. Today's easy living has breed legions of idiots.. Stay safe, lets get back to some normalcy sooner than later.. 😄

I don't know where you live, but in Elmhurst NY, not far from where I am, there is a calamity. A refrigerated trailer serving as a morgue waits behind the hospital to store bodies. And yet here, on this blockchain, people are expressing frustration at their loss of 'freedom'. It's just a bad cold, they say.
I don't understand the disconnect. Is it because they're playing the odds, figure they're not among the vulnerable?
Your pictures are remarkable. I love trees. And I love the tree chair. I hope you get to enjoy more walks in clean air and share more remarkable pictures with us.

It's crazy. We went on a walk in the neighborhood last night. This one neighbor was adamant that her young daughter come over and pet our dog. My little girl was holding the dog and they got within a foot or two of her.

I tried to stop this from happening but to no avail. People are just not getting it :(

That is a good place for a loner like me to frolic Sir @nuthman :P
I really do not like the CoViD-19, it is affecting me greatly, soon I think criminality will happen here in my place when people gets hungry. May God forbid.

I sure hope it doesn't get too bad where you are at. It is sad that people will take advantage of a bad situation and start looting.

Nice shots! My wife and I went on walks pretty much every day this past week. My body is beyond sore! I am not used to all this physical exercise. I usually just sit in my office all day!

Dude, my abs are killing me right now.. my wife put these 'slider' things in the hallway where you get in a pushup position and put the sliders under your hands and try to fold in half... lol. It turns out being in isolation is making me work out more than I usually do.

Yeah, I hear you there!

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @rehan12 and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

looks fantastic... what's the temp like these days? Around 75 like it always is?

Same situation is here, people seems not taking it serious, best way to avoid is to stay at home.

hello @nuthman your post has been voted by @travel2019 follow me in my #traveling community
📸 Congratulations! Your publication received a 100% Upvote 📸

Wow, it's really kind of the system over there that they still consider you guys physical fitness. We're all hoping this pandemic get over soon. Stay safe and Stay fit..

Lovely pictures with high good quality images 👌👍

Nice shots of pretty places I’ve wanted to visit but never have because there’s too many people to want to bother. I’m sorry that you’re experiencing people that aren’t taking social distancing seriously. I haven’t been outside my home since March 13th and was told that only 50% of people are social distancing.

I live near Fryman Canyon park which is a popular walking area. Up until last week’s closing, there were traffic jams because too many people wanted to visit the park. Folks were parking up in the residential areas and it looked like people were coming in by the droves. It is a gorgeous area for walking with several trails BUT you wouldn’t think we were living through a pandemic.

I hope people get the memo soon. Until then, I think we may brush up against many who believe this pandemic is fake news sensationalizing flu season.

Take care and good health to you,

J

Yeah, I can imagine that it had been getting bad up there around Hollywood. The same thing was happening down here before they shut down all the trails along the coast. Everyone was congregating in the nicer areas.

My wife works for the toy industry and I've had to drop off stuff on a client's front porch who lives in a very nice neighborhood. It annoys me when I drive over there, because all of the people in the neighborhood are acting like nothing is happening. Hanging out in the yards, walking around in large groups and stopping to have chats. I get in and out of there as quickly as possible.

There is a split on what people think of the virus. With too many believing it is a sensationalized hoax. We have some pressing towards safe distancing while others break the rules and say they are freeing themselves and others from a phantom fake illness and being smarter. I’m not sure how the “fearless” people that defy the social distancing suggestions will fare in the end but I know the virus is real and has affected real people.

My neighborhood got an invasion of the defiant ones who don’t even live in the neighborhood. Maybe because it’s easier to get to than trekking to the beach. There’s lots of trails along these hills. I heard also that stores are busy. Malls with certain “essential businesses” open are bustling because people are bored of staying home. My student tried to social distance. There were whole families shopping and people straight out got in her space.

I guess we will know as the month progresses what is real. I’d rather be safe than sorry.

Be safe and good health to you.

J