Have You Ever Emailed a Tree? [Plus, Win HIVE] - ENTRIES CLOSED, THANKYOU!

in #nature3 years ago (edited)

image.png

One of the problems in our world is the tendency to think of trees as inanimate. By doing so, we see them as objects, rather than subjects, rather than living beings. If we were to see a tree and wonder what it is like, to be a tree, perhaps the empathy could allow us to care for the natural world a little more. It was something I was thinking about last week, and then I heard about the Melbourne Urban Forest, where you can actually email a tree.

To understand this concept a little more, please watch this delightful little video that popped up in our Youtube feed yesterday, about the 72,000 trees in Melbourne with email addresses. That's right, you can email the tree - and get an email back. Wouldn't you love that as your day job, pretending to be that tree and emailing a person back?

It got me thinking about the stories we have about trees in our lives. The ones we drive by every day. The ones we planted. The ones that give us fruit. The ones that give us medicine. The ones that we cry under, kiss boys under, shade and shelter over, or climb in. Trees are not just objects - they live alongside us and become part of our stories, part of our histories.

Take this beautiful oak, for example. It sits on a hill in a meadow in the land behind my mother in law's house in Coleford, UK.

image.png

If I was to email this tree, I'd talk about how I felt when I first sat under it and looked out across the fields, and how grateful I was for it's cool shade on a hot Spring day. I felt held by this tree, even in the extreme anxiety that was buzzing in the air along with the tiny charcoal butterflies in the long grasses. It was the early days of the pandemic, I would say, and this is what I was expeririencing when I sat under you and cried. I'd ask this tree to take care of my mother in law when she walks past and misses her son all the way in Australia. I'd ask how long it had been there, and whether it saw changes in the meadows where sheep grazed and affected the biodiversity that is so precious in that part of the world. There's many things I could say to this tree. This tree became so sigificant that now my husband's mother says 'we walked up to the River tree'. River isn't my real name, but it'll do to explain how this tree has become part of our family landscape. It's not just a tree.

image.png

Email a Tree & Win HIVE (Sponsors Appreciated)

I'm offering 20 HIVE and @trucklifefamily has offered a 10 HIVE prize as well - watch this space for updates!

I thought it'd be fun to do a challenge where you emailed a tree - hypothetically, of course. You don't actually have to email a tree - just pretend.

You can write it as a post, or you can drop your comment below.

It should be 300 words or more (unless it's a poem or a video) and include a photograph of a tree that is precious to you, or has some significant memories attached to it. If you don't have an actual photograph of the tree, a

It could be about the importance of this tree to your culture or family, your childhood memories of it, or any other memories, questions you'd like to ask it, or even an imagined story that took place under this tree, because of the tree, or when the tree was planted. Anything you like - as long as the tree is a subject rather than an object. You don't even have to tell a truthful story - it could be a fiction if you like.

I don't mind what community you write it in, just drop your link underneaath here in the next week or so (or comment if you like). I'd love to read your tree stories! You can also read lots of short ones here for inspiration if you're stuck!

Please DO share this post and tag people you think would do a great entry (@trucklifefamily and @buckaroobaby, I'm looking at you!) - my offer of 20 HIVE is only valid for 5 posts or more, to be fair - so the more the merrier! And I'm always a bit generous for awesome writing, so don't be suprised if I throw a little more at really good entries! Be amazing!

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


Sort:  

What a rad idea! You can find my email here.

Cheers 🍻

Hi here is my participation, thank you @riverflows, I had a lot of fun creating the post and somehow I felt I was honoring that tree that is part of my life. Thank you very much.

https://peakd.com/hive-148441/@soyunasantacruz/mail-for-my-favorite-tree-20-hive-in-prizes-correo-para-mi-arbol-favorito-20-hive-en-premios

IMG_20210826_100937.jpg

Gosh I loved this post so much - and how beautifully written! You can write a long post and I'd happily read it - it was a lovely journey through your life with this precious tree. It made me a little sad and happy at the same time. So many of these posts are about our childhoods with the trees, and I think there's a bit of longing in them too. Thanks so much for writing it!

I didn't realize that I wrote the story of my life with the tree. 🤔🤭

Thanks to you for creating a source of inspiration for me and for reading this manuscript 😬😜.

Feliz de sumarme. Me encanta que se le pueda escribir a los arboles, ellos son tan esenciales, buenos, dan una tranquilidad, serenidad, confort; y crean o no puedes sentir como te abrazan con su sombra y la brisa. Aquí deje el link de la carta que escribi https://peakd.com/hive-193212/@derzweile/los-arboles-como-sujeto-trees-as-subjecta
Invito a @keiyuris y @keiver

Hi @derzweile , when I click on the link, it seems to be broken.

The tree breathes what we exhale.
We breathe what the tree exhales. We have a common destiny with the tree.
--Floyd 'Red Crow' Westerman (Kangi Duta) shares the old Hopi Prophecy about the end of America, the big change that's coming and the ways to truly live on and with Mother Earth.
Floyd 'Red Crow' Westerman (1936-2007)

Stunning. Heart opening and breaking at the same time. Thankyou for sharing. xxx

@riverflows I will do it and tell my other friends about this wonderful project. In fact, I have been doing it for years now so it won't be a problem for me. I wish I was in Canberra right now so go to this place and meet some of these trees.

I invite @maryjacy @traciyork @tattoodjay and @melinda1016 to check this post

My email to a tree
https://peakd.com/hive-127788/@sunnyag/an-email-to-my-beloved-tree-in-eddison-park-canberra

Oh my Twitter is not functioning because of the ban placed on it over here, I can only access it if I change my location through VPN and I haven't done that, I would have love to see it, guess I miss it..

You don't need to see Twitter, just read the post above

Yahhh, I saw it now, I was not mindful about that before... probably in a rush..lol @davidbright check out this

Did you check it in the original post?

Oh, my mind didn't tell to check the original post, I will check it now. Thanks for putting my notice into it.

-Hi!! Good morning! @deeanndmathews Ma'am, this is an interesting one. Thank you very much for the invitation! May you have a blessed day!💚🌷💕

#dreemer

You're welcome and you have a blessed day too!

Thanks for reminding me!!! I need to finish the Higgs Bubble one which you can find the contest info on my blog, then get onto this one - I am so far behind on writing!

I forgot the Higgs Bubble one -- gotta go back and check on that one! Thanks!

My pleasure, I just posted mine in The Inkwell :)

Best of luck :)

https://peakd.com/hive-161155/@wrestlingdesires/my-email-to-you-dear-spruce-plus-original-artwork

The artwork part was the most tricky, lol. I originally created it to be a spruce branch, but it turned out to be a forest with a lake!

I love this one!!! You will see an entry from me within a few days :) @dreemsteem @cescajove @sunnyag @sofs-su check this out :)

Amazing contest, I'll try my best to make an entry soon.

@kenechukwu97 @kemmyb @wongi check this out 😊

Hmmm... The headline though. This would be a good contest to enter.

Let's see how it goes
Wahoooooh


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Oh, nice! An email to a tree. Sounds interesting. I'd love to participate. Thanks for the tag.

@esther-emmanuel, @teknon, @aimharryianne, feel free to join in! 💖

-Thanks a lot @kemmyb.💚❤💕 Ma'am thank you for the tag!.I love the concept!🙏

Sis @ayesha-malik and Sis @amberkashif please check this out!

Have a blessed night!
🙏
#dreemer

So we are going to make many mails hehe as we all are nature lovers.
Thanks for the tag sis❤

Nice.. One....

My entry coming up soon. It is good to have something for a change. Thank you for the tag @Kemmyb

Excellent!

Woah! This sounds strange but kinda fun! Thanks for the mention lovely. I appreciate.!PIZZA

@kemmyb! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @teknon.

Did you know Pizzabot speaks Spanish if you use the command ESPIZZA? (1/10)

I guess I have to email multiple trees as I have spent most of my time with them, if they could speak( scientifically they do communicate) I guess they will narrate funny and gloomy stories about me.
I just wish the entry I am thinking may fulfill the requirement.
I would like to invite @abrarhussain @esmeesmith for this contest hehe most oft friends are already preparing the entries I saw in the comment section.

Looks interesting haha. Worth giving a try :)

This sounds awesome, I'd love to be a part of it


~~~ embed:1430118246062100480 twitter metadata:amx1ZmVyfHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tL2psdWZlci9zdGF0dXMvMTQzMDExODI0NjA2MjEwMDQ4MHw= ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This is so cool, emailing a tree. It's the first time I have heard of such a concept and getting a response back. WOW! I am going to write a thank you to one of those trees <3


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Awesome!!! Choose a tree that you know personally - be so interested to hear about a tree that means something to YOU!

@riverflows - thank you for allowing me to contribute:

Email A Tree: Hong Kong Orchid and a Story:
https://peakd.com/nature/@jimmy.adames/email-a-tree-hong-kong-orchid-and-a-story

!ALIVE
!LUV

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@riverflows, you've been given LUV from @jimmy.adames.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/5)

You Are Alive and have been rewarded with 0.1 ALIVE tokens from the We Are Alive Tribe, and it's paid for by the earnings on @alive.chat, swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Now this is a delightful task set before us @riverflows. You didn't tell us when this challenge ends.
I need to do this before I get busy with stuff.

Good point! Let's make it a week from today!

This contest ends next Tuesday, got to get my butt moving.

Oh I love this @riverflows and I would like to offer some hive as well for some of the best entries. Ode to the Trees xxxx

I may consider asking the gazillion thorn trees why @riverflows tagged me but then I'm pretty sure they would show me the thorny middle finger. @trucklife-family I totally get why she tagged you but then you write some pretty profound things even when the trees don't email back! There's the profusion of cannabis springing up again but considering they're still in the toddling stages of a tree life cycle my efforts to communicate may go up in smoke

Haha well thorn trees are still trees! I tagged you for your great writing, photos and appreciation of the natural world around you 😘 but you aren't obligated!

Oh I know! I was just looking at how humourous the post could be as well. I mean cannabis.....thorny trees....it could get quite philosophical if you think about how amazing they are and yet undervalued and misunderstood.

Thank you for the compliment though. And for the tag. I do appreciate it

Awesome Thankyou! I'll edit the post..how much did you want to donate @trucklife-family ?

I just send over 15 hive xxx

Hi @riverflows what a great idea, while reading your post a thousand ways to thank my favorite tree came to my mind, so before I lose my inspiration I want to thank you.

I will gladly participate but I don't promise to post before Friday, because good things take time, hehehe I will actually travel to my grandmother's house so I can take pictures of the tree I will dedicate my post to.

Oh that'll be fantastic, cannot wait to read it!

Here's my entry. What a joy this was to write. I didn't even take a sip of coffee before I started communicating with this long ago friend. Thank you so much @riverflows.

You are welcome! Loved it.

Interessanting concept..
Never emailed a tree, but I plant 1 on a monthly basis xD

That's good to hear. This year I missed out on the tree planting I normally do - next year I will plant double !

Hey! I like the video! That's awesome! Amazing that it is possible to detect the tree's location and email something like that? LOL, But it's cool!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

This is a great, light-filled idea. I hope to be inspired.

I was planning to email our lone oak tree which grows so slowly, it is dwarfed by the butternut I'd planted nearby, but when I went out to snap a photo, I discovered my little locust seedling had been devastated by.... DEER.... how dare they! After all my work to save this little fellow from transplant shock.
https://hive.blog/hive-181465/@carolkean/have-you-ever-emailed-a-tree-dear-honey-locust-i-m-so-sorry

Thanks for tagging me on this one, @owasco, and thank you @riverflows for a fun prompt with so much possibility. I had been contemplating the quaking aspen colonies and the scientific evidence of trees communicating via an extensive underground network of roots. The deer derailed me.

the quaking aspen colonies and the scientific evidence of trees communicating via an extensive underground network of roots.

Oh please write another one - you are more than welcome to!

Que idea tan bonita, me encantan los arboles y estoy de acuerdo contigo en que muchas personas no los ven como los seres vivos maravillosos que son. Si esto cambiara, sobre todo que los niños los vean así, esto sería muy bueno para mejorar nuestra relación con el ambiente. Saludos

I loved everything, it made me remember beautiful moments. Here is my participation

Here is my entry @riverflows... just in the nick of time 😂

The Magic Tree - Poem to an Old Friend

Although the post has a blog element, it is really the video poem at the end of the post that is my letter/email to the tree that has had the greatest impact upon me.

Hope you enjoy 🙂

I have fulfilled my promise hehe don't know I qualify within the due date or not😬 have a glance at my entry
https://peakd.com/hive-150329/@ayesha-malik/email-to-my-somatopal

I missed this one too. I just finished writing mine.. LOL this week starts with such disappointment for me.
Never mind, Maybe I'll modify my post and use it later.

Thanks so much for this, I gave our email conversation another little twist, just for fun :)

https://peakd.com/hive-161155/@wrestlingdesires/my-email-to-you-dear-spruce-plus-original-artwork

I have a favourite tree too! Shout out to my cherry tree, that was such a cool contest!!!

Is it too late to enter this contest? I wasn't able to find a deadline in the post