I can't get enough of hikes just before sunset

in #nature3 years ago

It may seem slightly dangerous to go out right before sunset after I got lost on the first hike of this trip a couple of weeks ago. Well, that first hike taught me a valuable lesson and I now make sure to know not only where I'm going but whether or not I'm on track at any point in time. I probably deserve to be lost in the dark if I have technology that can assist me and I don't use it.

Photo taken by me with a Pixel 4 XL

Photographers call this the golden hour or something like that, and it's easy to see why. A source of warm light illuminates everything you see from the side. You can make something that looks like an ordinary forest 20-22 hours a day look magical.

Layers are visible that wouldn't be otherwise.

Photo taken by me with a Pixel 4 XL

I visited the same area the last two days, but I took slightly different walks each time. On my first trip, I parked on the road and walked to a parking area that seemed more official. It wasn't until after my second trip that I realized I probably should have parked at the spot I hiked to the day before.

Photo taken by me with a Pixel 4 XL

I saw this and wondered why the sign was knocked over and where it was. The trail isn't supposed to have ATVs on it, and it was up in the woods, next to the trail. There is an ATV trail that's further up the trail, but far enough that it didn't make sense that the sign was here. As far as mysteries go, it's not a very surprising one, I suppose.

Photo taken of me by me with a Pixel 4 XL

Ironically, I said I can't get enough of these walks in the title, but I'm not sure I'll be going today. I've been going every day for a while and probably could stand a day to just recuperate. I've got plenty of food, plenty of good views since I'm right next to a lovely lake, four guitars, and no obligations.

Sometimes, I feel like I have to leave the area and go do something, but that's not true. I can just stay right here for a day and enjoy the day.

I've only got two more nights in this cabin and then I'm finally headed back toward home. I still don't know what I'll be doing once I get there, but I'm okay with that.

Photo taken by me with a Pixel 4 XL

Sort:  

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @oh-high-mark.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @sharkthelion! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 13000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 14000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List