These carnivorous plants are doing amazing.

in #nature4 years ago

Hello everyone it's teenagecrypto and today I will be giving you all a update on my carnivorous plants and a review on what I think about them.

  • Venus flytrap

I purchased this item at Walmart for roughly 5$ each plant. Not bad but I had to find a plant with healthy heads. I managed to find 2 of them that seemed nice. I went home and watched several videos on taking care of them and about a few weeks later they look amazing. And they caught some bugs by themselves. Of course I fed several of them early in the beginning because it's fun watching them eat things. Here is the new and improved flytrap with the flower still growing: 0mqw2h.jpg
wtu96s.jpg

  • Sundew

I bought this plant online because it is a different type of carnivorous plant that looked interesting to me and had a nice look. It has only caught one bug by itself so far but it never needs to be fed really. The plant itself is about the size of two quarters. So it never gets big unless I had a different type of sundew. Here is the new look now: 95i4w6.jpg

  • Pitcher plant

I purchased this at lowes for 10$ and it came with a venus flytrap and a pitcher plant called a sarrencia i think. Instead of the pitcher hanging from the plant it stands straight up. The plants where dormant at first but than 2 weeks later 3 tiny venus flytraps popped up and one pitcher which just opened up yesterday. I hope to see the pitcher plant in action once day. Here is it in its natural glory. 0pvxg6.jpg

I tried to get the best possible pictures I could of the plants so forgive me if it's blurry. Also for those who use hivelist and want to earn some tokens all you need to do is comment below and I'll upvote it.

Thanks for reading

Yours truly,teenagecrypto

Sort:  

Looks like you have quite the collection going now!

Oh yeah I got more on the way

I had some of these and me and my kids LOVED them. One vacation later, all the leaves turned black.

Ahh, we loved that plant.

Posted Using LeoFinance

In winter you can put them in the fridge to simulate dormancy

Oh nice. Can I put them in the fridge every time I go on vacation?

I'll have to read up on that so that I can see if its worth purchasing some more.

Also it can be watered with distilled water not sink water

I don't know if you can put it in the fridge during vacation but you can try it. Make sure it has distilled water filled in the container like halfway up the pot. I use cool whip containers and put my plant in that.

Nice. Thanks.

Careful they don't bite your finger off!!

This is really a interesting and unique hobby.
Do you just want to see them grow or you have some more ideas that you want to shape after they grow?

Posted Using LeoFinance

I don't know right now but I am getting a venus flytrap called a B-52 soon that is filled with color

I remember way back in Biology class there was a Pitcher Plant in the shape of a snake head. It's like a golf driver held upside down with leaves hanging down like a tongue, pretty cool I thought. Cobra head pitcher plant.

Never heard of it? Thx for the info