Making a Hoodie out of an Old Fleece Blanket

in #needleworkmonday4 years ago (edited)

Hey guys, I made a hoodie out of a fleece blanket that I got a while ago. I looked a lot of different places for tips or patterns for making a hoodie but didn't find a good pattern online. Well, I hope you guys like this DIY and find it helpful if you want to make your own hoodie.

0hk3jk.jpg

So, the first thing I did was find a loose t-shirt to use the shape of for the body of the hoodie. I cut the pieces for the body significantly longer than the t-shirt i was basing it off of because I like my hoodies to hang a lot lower than my waist.

o0xkxs.jpg

The sleeves were the hardest to cut out, because I didn't have a shape to go off of. I did make them rather long though.

efwjia.jpg

The pocket was rather easy to guess the shape of.

a16kox.jpg

And then there was the hood. I actually had to use a different fabric for the hood because I didn't have enough of the fleece.

06doqp.jpg

bbcwu8.jpg

Next step is to sew it all together. First thing I sewed was the hood. I also had to hem the front edge of the hood. I only did a hem because I didn't want a drawstring hood so I didn't need to make a casing for it.

Next I sewed the pocket on the front body piece. I had to hem the open edges before I sewed it on.

gkif5h.jpg

Then I sewed the two body pieces together at the shoulder seams. I also did a double topstitch to keep the seam laid out flat.

6bhczf.jpg

3mhir0.jpg

Then I sewed the sleeves on at the shoulders. It was a bit difficult to match up the curved edges when I was pinning it together.

e8g0k7.jpg

Then, as one long seam, I sewed the under-arm and side seams all at once on each side.
I ended up making the arms too tight so I had to go back through and add a strip of fabric at each seam on the arms.

The last thing to add was the hood. I would have added some sort of edging to the sleeves and waist band if I had any.

3arkyq.jpg

I hope you guys liked this post, I am quite enjoying my new hoodie. I hope this helped any of you if you were wanting to make your own hoodie.

Sort:  

Another neat DIY post @cassidydawn!

Thank you @jacobpeacock!

You are quite welcome @cassidydawn! Keep up the good work!

That was great work and I like how you improvised with your methods to make a pattern.

@tipu curate

Thank you!

What a cute pattern XD I think making the hood out of different material was a better idea anyway, gives it more visual interest ;D

That is fair, it does give it a nice visual element. Thank you!

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @tibfox and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Natural Medicine.

Just dropping back in to let you know I’ve featured your post in The Lotus Garden newsletter, which will be published tomorrow.


The Lotus Garden is a newsletter supporting content relevant to Homesteaders & supported by Natural Medicine. Earn LOTUS & HIVE for your #homesteading content!
About II Discord II Community

Congratulations @cassidydawn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Revolution! Revolution!
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!

Wow, you improvised a complete hoodie, I am impressed... In sewing I always need a pattern or I am lost (ok, to be honest I often also lost with a pattern :-D) I thing your hoodie is beautiful and it looks very cozy. And I am with you with the too small sleeves, I had this problem sometimes while knitting. I think its (for me) a combination of thick arms on my side and that I dislike clingy/narrow sleeves. But you solved the problem perfectly as the sleeves now look relaxed and well fitting <3

I totally understand being lost while sewing, honestly, it happens to me ALL the time. Thank you for your support!

Congratulations! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this week's @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Posts 87!
Thank you for your quality post and for being apart of the needlework community!

NWMlogo.jpg

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the HIVE blockchain.

Subscribe to our NeedleWorkMonday Community today!

For more information on #NeedleWorkMonday and the @needleworkmonday community please visit our FAQs!