Steem to Hive, Justin Sun, fighting - Can someone explain it to me?

in #news3 years ago

So, if you follow me or if you happened to catch my last post, I was a fairly active Steemit user back about 2 years ago. I built up a following with my haiku translations and information and my photos of Japan. Then life happened and about a year ago I left and never looked back.

Until a few days ago.

I kind of expected everything to be the same. Silly me. Instead I found everything has changed.

Tron. Justin Sun. Hive. All kinds of forks from those in power fighting each other. Many of the users I used to follow not posting any more out of disgust for the entire situation. Whew. Wow. That's a lot to take in.

Can anyone point me to a write-up that summarizes everything that has happened in the past year? When I left, the biggest issue was that Korean guy... I forget his name... who did the daily investment shitposts but had a whale upvoting each one for a few hundred dollars each. This Justin Sun wasn't around yet, nor any of the resulting drama.

I found this post which gives some info, but still leaves me wanting. Can anyone point me to a story that gives more?

Sort:  

Anyway, welcome back. It was sort of the same for me.

Thank you 😃

Cointelegraph has some articles about this issue, you could find post of Hivers about the topic too.

https://es.cointelegraph.com/news/justin-sun-recounts-steem-hive-hard-fork-at-virtual-blockchain-week

Is a long story, my favourite part was when the white hacker took the funds that JS stole from Hive's witnesses and well known Hivers that opposed him.

Thank you for the link 😃 I am reading all I can, trying to get up to date, while I try to remember all else that I haven't used in over a year (all the coins like pal, frontends, and so on)

I find this to be the best write up, you can almost make it into a movie!

https://decrypt.co/38050/steem-steemit-tron-justin-sun-cryptocurrency-war

Whoops,I missed your comment @livinguktaiwan when you made it. Just found it and read the link. Thank you! That does indeed tell the story well.