Love HIm Or Hate Him - Avi Yemeni is persistent

in #news4 years ago

I like Avi's straight forwardness. I also like his conviction, as I don't carry that same level.

Some of his opinions, particularly, his bias towards his Jewish race, always made me look at his content sceptically.

However, since he had a heart attack and died, his journalism has improved so much.

I have friends who automatically discredit what he says. They shoot the messenger even before hearing the message.

On Saturday's freedom protest he was arrested.

Today, he released footage relating to that day.

He has created a petition here

Avi has more right-wing beliefs. But, I try to listen to multiple POV to establish as much clarity as possible.

Do you think the police are justified?

I think that opinions are polarised. The "Freedom" needs to be tempered to balance with those that believe some control is required - to what level? I'd like to have some robust discussion. To work out the truth behind the virus, & its danger upon the populace. Attemp to get people moving forward, so that we don't become an economic basketcase, with depressed people and a crippling debt level.

Sort:  

I don't like his form of journalism it is inciteful and just like most journos they obscure the information and distribute/edit things in their favour.

He produced a video a while back and made stark comments on Indigenous people are better off in jail. I am half Indigenous. I have given my life helping people in disaster, building community initiatives.

My wife is also Indigenous and she is a nurse. My children deserve a future just like everyone else.

I used to follow him but after those comments and the blood, sweat and tears I have given for all Australians. He lost me.

Yes, I understand how his comments came across. His commentary about Palestinian people also come across as heartless.

In context though, there are significant issues that need to be addressed within the aboriginal community.
In fact, our indigenous populations have generational abuse, which has created a complex and deep rooted challenge that needs more than a band aid, one size fits all, remedy.
His comparison between, deaths in custody vs deaths in the community, is most likely factual, but should never be used in a flippant way. It was callous.
He could actually redeem himself by digging into those facts. Just looking at statistics to counter an argument, is myopic.

Same can be applied to non indigenous people but he didn't say everyone is better off in prison.

Yes. Spot on. Although, I can relate to him. I often put my foot in my mouth when spouting lots of things. I can only imagine the intensity of talking to strangers in public, on record, about sensitive topics.
I hope our redeeming feature is that we can flesh out an idea over time. Not only to make amends, but to create connections.

You're nothing like him bud, you're better

cheers! but man i think if you talk alot, which i am guessing you do, you sometimes misread your audience, and may say things you shouldnt .. and hopefully, they'll laugh with you. hahahaha Especially, when you're brought up in the West

Congratulations @jagged! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 76000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 77000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports meetups of the Hive UK Community
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day