My First NFT's - Keep Expectations low

in #nft3 years ago (edited)

My first 3 NFT at Rarible.com/gunn4r

2021_03_Profile_Rarible-GunnarHeilmann-NFTs-01.JPG

The Crypto news is full of Stories of artists selling NFT's. Even common and traditional news write about this new way of handling digital art. I wanted to find out what it means and how it works. Here it is: My Profile at Rarible


My conclusion after one day in the space. I did not sell anything (that I did not expect) but I do know at least how it works. I managed to upload and register on the chain 3 digital art pieces. Along the way, I made some mistakes, and the way I entered the items I forgot to actually link the high resolution *.tiffs. But I guess if someone purchases it, I hope I can attach a link then.

Does anyone know how to edit the entries? I could really use that help.

Anyhow, the profile is created and there are 3 Light-Art-pieces up that I really like and that is worth being out there. The entire adventure cost me approximately 100€ in gas fees. That is f-ing insane. For a 'simple' experiment it feels much more like a very expensive lottery ticket. Are there other ways? Does anyone know a better way?
On top of that, the strange feeling remains: if no one sees or values your work then this will not pay off. There is so much good artwork out there it's hard to stand out. It will always remain taste and that is in the eye of the beholder.


What's the price tag of your artwork?

How do you determine a price tag that suits you and the art piece? It's a super complex question that involves one's reputation and the work and materials and equipment that were used to create the artwork. Well for me it's super hard to calculate that at this point?
What I know is: There is no pressure to sell tomorrow or next week. Yet I had to put a number on my art. When it's hard to calculate I made it a number I like.
I choose π =

What happens afterward I think lays not in my hands. I would love it to change hands a few times and see if people are actually like what I create. That would be amazing to see and reward my efforts in the pursuit of my passion.

2021_03_Profile_Rarible-GunnarHeilmann-01.JPG
My Profile at Rarible

The profile is up and if this experiment works I will put more energy into that venture. More art to propose to the world. What's your experience?

I hope it was informative and maybe also inspirational. If you have more questions please do not hesitate. I am happy to share my knowledge.


Gunnar Heilmann Photogrpahy

If you are interested in more of my art please also see:
Website YouTube Facebook Page Instagram Feed

Since I am one of the cofounders of the LightPainters project, I also help and support the Light Painting community as a curator - not only on the Hive.

We are Light Painters

To help and support the LightPainters community here on Hive I would appreciate your delegation of HivePower. Any amount is appreciated. It does not require much to get started, we are happy for any gesture.

How to delegate?
Delegate 50HivePower, [50HP]
Delegate 250HivePower, [250HP]
Delegate 500HivePower, [500HP]
All the Hive Power will help to upvote the artist's contribution as part of the LightPainters community.

Thank you so much!

Sort:  

Also, have some !wine :)


Congratulations, @lightcaptured You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @gunnarheilmann.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 23477.534 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.270 HIVE

Hey, good to see you're experimenting with this. I was considering trying that too on Ethereum, but I believe the gas fees, I mean the NFT minting price isn't fair at all. Moreover, my NFT "investments" here on Hive are probably my worst spent tokens. I tried my luck on the EOS based NFT gallery and sold one of my artistic paintbrush effect self-portraits but the second item "matures" there already for few months. If you have a twitter account, check out the NFT and NFTart hastags, I think this is where ETH whales search for NFTs to invest.
Good luck!

Thank you for your advice. Thank you for your support. I will need to post it on Twitter I guess. Let's see what develops.

Fingers crossed someone buys them :) Have you checked the prices of other digital artists there?
I was also wondering which of the NFT galleries on ETH are the best for beginners, as there seem to be at least 3 maybe many more there. How did you pick up this one?

Well, I looked around and for some, you actually have to apply. Some said it has to be digital art and said mine is not. I did not understand and did not continue to bother. Yet then I saw it in some Youtube channel that compares different platforms. Opensea and Superrare and also rarible. After connecting to the metamask think it worked with any extra process. then it was super easy. I was surprised. Now happy. I hope it gets in front of someone who appreciates the art.

Ah, I see, thank you :) My process was almost the same, apart from the youtube research as I browsed some twitter feeds instead :) But I am not convinced it's worth it the investment. ETH is too volatile.

yep - I fear it's a hype that will see a long time before it actually works for more than just the already famous.

I guess it works pretty well for those providing the NFTs there, hehehe :)