JPEGS of rocks, cyberpunks and whatever - Almost $2 billion in NFT art sales in August

in #nft3 years ago

Well folks it's that time of the crypto market cycle again when things are looking like they are going to start popping off again. We're seeing pixeled pictures of rocks selling as NFT's for over $1 million dollars. Defi yield farming has changed the game and we're all used to getting 100% APY's on holding some shit coin on a cloned farm. Crypto is more mainstream today than it's ever been. Everyone has heard of Bitcoin by now because it's in mainstream media almost daily. It's a good time to have been in crypto for a couple of years. For those that have been around from the STEEM days of 2017, here we go again, the final few months of the bull run.

Over the past few weeks, I have been completely blown away at the action in the NFT market. Mainly focusing on pictures of ROCKS and Cyberpunk monkey. In case you are unaware, transactions for the 100 royalty free jpeg pictures of rocks have been booming the past few weeks. Yes, you seen that correct, $1 billion dollars on pictures of ROCKS like the one below that sold 20 hours ago for $1.7 million.

image.png

I sorta understand it but at the same time, $1.7 milly for a jpeg of a royalty-free rock is a little insane. Maybe the instantaneity of it is where the value is. All i know is these guys buying and selling these things are either too rich and bored are they have balls of steel. Like in 1 year when the crypto bubble pops, what are these things going to be selling for? It's a madness, I love it. It's good for the whole market because people see this shit in the news and they are blown away that a pic could sell for that much, they read a little more and the next thing you know, they FOMO in and we got a new crypto addict. I'd rather see crypto news of selling rocks and cyber monkeys selling for millions of dollars over BTC being used for drugs selling/ransom money are some bullshit. That card has been played the past 10 years and is worn out. It's all about selling pixels for profits and huge profits at that.

What about CyberPunks? This bad boy below sold for a cool $11.8 million.

image.png

They could have bought 56 Lambos, bought 8-10 McDonalds restaurants or gone to space 26 times with Virgin Galactic but Nah, fuck that. This pixeled picture of a blue man with a brown hat is way better. Oh shit, I forgot he is warning a mask and has an ear stub as well. That single yellow dot is worth about 18.2 Lambo's on its own. Sheet, I wish I had a yellow dot, even half a dot would do.

According to NonFungible.com, over $1.8 billion of volume over roughly 800-850 transactions have taken place in NFT's most popular platforms in August 2021. The top players in the space being CryptoPunks, Art Blocks, Bored Apes yacht club and Parallel Alpha.

Im blew away by this

image.png

What do you think about all this crazy pixeled madness that happening? D you think these are legit investments? They have been saying the past 3-4 years, it's the year of the NFT and I think they got it right this. I personally dont own any NFT's, not art ones anyway because I can think of better things to invest into are better ways to piss money away. I do like to read stories to stay informed because it's very interesting so im a spectator I guess, it's too rich for me. I dont think I could ever spend 60 3 bedroom houses worth of money on a jpeg even it was the true image of god minted by the big man myself.

Weird question.

God mints an NFT of his image and the devil does the same. The buyer would own full rights to the only images of God and the devil ever. Which sells for more? and how much?

image.png

I think I'll leave it at the question and see what people say.

My guess by the way is the Catholic church have more money than God, the devil and the Beatles combined so they buy both NFT's for

image.png

They burn the devil's NFT's by sending it to @hell and make the god image royalty-free for all to use.

Would do you think, which one would sell for more? Maybe the devil could be better at marketing, I mean we see Justin Sun doing ok. Thank for reading my post, i might drop another one in 6 months when i feel the feel to write something random.

Peace out folks.

Sort:  

I'm just a spectator myself as we think alike. I mean I don't mind people throwing out money on the window if the like but it's not for me.

We'll see how it's going to play out in a year or two.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I cant wait to see what these things are selling for in 2-3 months as we head in the bull market :) I would not be surprised to see Justin Sun pony up something stupid like $50 million to brag about it.

I haven't heard from him for a long time but he definitely fits the profile. He's capable of doing everything to get some attention.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hi. With soccer players doing 180 million I thought I had seen it all! But no a jpeg for that much

PS Splinterlands is adding 6000 new players a day! Good times for them too!

Congratulations @silverstackeruk! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 9000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 10000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Quick feedback
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day