Super Typhoon Noru / Karding Kept Me Up All Night

in #noru2 years ago

Thank God, the storm is over now and the sky is getting all clear. It was not that easy for me last night as I was up until early morning today. I was watching a live stream on youtube about the storm Noru / Karding and how I wish this is over. You know that feeling when every time there is a storm the time seems to go longer when you wait.
image.png
Force Thirteen youtube channel provide timely status of the storm

I heard that there is also a tropical storm called Ian in America while we are having this super typhoon here in the Philippines. I found this youtube channel of Force Thirteen where they track storms like these ones that I mentioned. Very helpful and capable people doing their job. Thanks to their dedication and useful information.
image.png
outside my window I can see it is starting to flood

I really am so worried because every hour we receive text blasts about the super typhoon Karding or Noru. From category 3 to category 5 in just a matter of hours. When you check online what these categories mean you will be scared to death to find out that category 5 can shatter glass windows, tip over a car and so on. I was wondering what will happen to our small rented apartment should this super typhoon make a landfall. It is headed directly to where I live in Central Luzon Pampanga.
image.png
power outage and the wind is starting to grow stronger

Times like this all you can do is pray hard for safety and that is what we all had been doing. After all the safety measures done, PRAY. It is kind of tormenting to hear the sound of the wind and that is unavoidable because most houses here has tin roof. Seems like cats or horses are galloping up there. I feel all nervous and worried and wished this is all over.
image.png
There was a calm before the storm indeed. Around 5:00PM it started to look gloomy but it was calm and no rain. Then at dark like 9:00PM the rain started falling but nothing to worry about until the landfall. That was the longest night I had. Thank God it is over now. The typhoon became super typhoon but they said it is small. Usually a typhoon of that magnitude would be felt by an entire region but luckily that was not the case base on my observation. Our neighboring provinces are already being affected so bad base on the tweets I read online and in our place it feels like normal rain. We only felt the strong gust of winds after the second landfall I think. It was still scary though.

Hope my friends from Luzon specifically Pampanga are all good now.
IMG_20200826_182115.jpg

Much love,

Ally

Sort:  

Dear @allyson19,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Congratulations @allyson19! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 67000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 68000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP