the bold and the brave, May 21st

in #nsfw2 years ago

IMG_1111.jpg

I’m struggling to grow in a few areas. I think my writing lacks polish, so I’ve sought the counsel and work of others before me.

Saul Bellow, an award-winning novelist, offered some observations that might be of use to aspiring authors.

Bellow reflects,

“One of my weaknesses as a writer is that I was far too modest in my choice of subjects.

If I were going to invest my talent more profitably I should have had more ambitious themes than I allowed myself to have.”

In other words, Saul believes that humility in one’s efforts might sabotage oneself. For more effect, a bold attempt over a subtle approach might succeed.

pb020-1.jpg

Marilyn Monroe's first ever photoshoot.

I hadn't thought myself a tame artist, but as I reflect, I don't feel I've pushed the envelope either. I aim for a consistency in style, but has it held me back?

Saul points directly at modesty as a weakness. The choice of subjects for a novelist and photographer are paramount.

To invest in one’s talent lucratively, complacency cannot work. Ambitious themes for any artist are a must, then.

I reflect that my work suffers from Bellow’s observed weaknesses. However, if he’s met success even with this critique, to follow his advice early might prove useful.

IMG_1144.jpg