Preparatory drawings for 'Fragile Balance No 1.'

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

Be still: My terrified heart. And I will caress your pain. ~Sylvia Forest. Streets are all Empty.
♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

I'll whisper to you of a truer love: You'll never be lonely or broken again. ~Sylvia Forest. Streets are all Empty.

Developing the ideas for a series of 7 drawings.

For the last few days, I've been working on the development of ideas for the Makers Place 'Series 7 Showcase' Challenge: 7 weeks to create a series of 7 works, based on one theme, with 5 editions of every work.

But thinking about it now, these ideas have been evolving for much much longer than a few days. More like the last eight years. And even before then. Maybe my whole lifetime.

Eight years ago I designed and created, produced and installed a sculpture for the International Environmental Exhibition: Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi. Since then I've been ever so . s . l . o . w . l . y . working towards drawing and painting again: Developing concepts through my work with ephemeral art and flatlay arrangements ~ At the same time, studying the work of many different creatives at Tumblr and Instagram, Steemit and nTopaz, Minds and now Makers Place.

I felt that I wanted to wait until I was actually drawing again before beginning to show my artwork at nTopaz. And the time is now because just over the last few days, I've FINALLY started to draw again.

Beginning to draw all over again.

Just small little drawings that for me are my way of 'doodling' whilst allowing some of the elements that will be incorporated into my final drawing for the first piece of the 'Series 7 Showcase' to emerge.

I love the concept of producing a visually cohesive series of images for this particular Digital Art challenge at Makers Place and many of the themes suggested by the Collectors there really appealed to me. For instance:

• Floating • Tangled • Frozen Energy • Hidden Depths

However, my heart was set on 'Fragile Balance' which had been the theme initially suggested by Reinhard Schmid for the previous 555 challenge at Makers Place.

I've started the design for the first of the seven drawings for 'Series 7 Showcase.' When it's finished, which I'm hoping will be tomorrow, (but most likely will be the day after) I'll share it here, along with all the stages of its creation.

Thumbnail Doodles.

These drawings now are only 6 cms in width. You can see how tiny they are in comparison to the pencils.

They have been drawn on a light cream Mi-Teintes TEX slightly textured pastel paper with STABILO Carbothello pastel pencils.

Soft pastels and pastel pencils.

I'd been experimenting with Rembrandt soft pastels and realized that even though I love the impressions and suggestiveness, 'freedom' and expressiveness they allow in drawing, what I really love is a combination of broad and finely detailed imagery. And so I spent a small, and what to me was a fortune, buying a small range of the STABILO Carbothello pastel pencils.

They are an absolute joy to work with, although I have to be really careful sharpening them as the points break off so easily. Finer than soft pastels, they are still a lot softer and broader to use than coloured pencil and can now be used to build up the detail I'm looking for. I'm also experimenting with using coloured pencils with the pastel pencils to give a little more precision where needed.

My seven final drawings for Fragile Balance will explore the idea of opposites coming together and merging to bring about a harmonious balance ~ A balance that will always be so fragile.

And these tiny little drawings now represent some of the aspects that will be incorporated into the first drawing for this series: 'Fragile Balance No 1: Her Obelisque.

A heart that is holding infinite possibilities. A creative who is learning to trust the mystery of what will be. A spirit that is willing to fly into new creative realms and share the journey. ~Ally.

Drawing and Photography: ©Alison Lee Cousland.

 " " \"makers place gallery.png\"""

 " " \"Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png\"""

 " " \"HSCO.GHSC.FINAL.png\"""

 " " \"T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1 copy.png\"""

Sort:  

Good to see you posting at ntopaz again Ally:) The drawings are really cute, the combination of colours have a serene tone and i love the different symbols you used:)

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thanks so very much George. It feels really wonderful to share my work at nTopaz again. I wanted to wait until I was actually drawing and painting again before I could do that.

Now that I've faced all manner of doubts, I hope to share a lot more at nTopaz. I really love the act of drawing ~ Seeing forms take shape ~ And my new pastels are beautiful to work with. Yet I'm always so restless before beginning. So strange. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Beautiful post with the drawing and add the lyrics :)

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

I'm so pleased you liked the lyrics of Sylvia's song as well as the tiny drawings Anggrek. Sylvia has released one CD so far ~ Reconnect: Whisperings from the Heart ~ And is currently working on her next album. A lot of her songs are based on her unique personal situations, challenges and observations ~ Although many of the themes/lyrics are ones that we all can relate to.

Now that I'm drawing again, we are looking at ways that I can illustrate some of her current songs. Promises to be a very exciting project. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

How amazing artworks... I din't know that until I click this thumbnail.

Thanks so much @Joey.
Although these drawings are very small, they were enough to give me the confidence to start working on a series of drawings that are inspired by the latest challenge at Makers Place. Hope to share my first drawing for this series today/tomorrow. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Hello @allyinspirit, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks so much @creativecrypto. I'm also looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

I'm currently working on a drawing: Fragile Balance. No 1 and I hope you'll enjoy seeing the different stages of its creation. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

I love what you created. I always found it interesting to see pastel art. My aunt used to draw with them and was able to draw up the most intricate eyes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much @foxyspirit. Pastels are a fabulous medium for both broad and detailed work ~ Wonderful for both portraits and landscapes. Eyes are amazing to draw ~ The more you look at something to be able to draw it, the more you see. So your aunt must have had many happy moments, studying the eyes of different people to be able to draw them so intricately.

I've done a lot of drawing in the past but mainly b&w and coloured pencil. So working with pastel is relatively new for me. Although in one sense, it can be similar to charcoal only using colour, I'm still pretty much at the experimental stage. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

I've worked with charcoal only once. I loved it! If I get back into drawing perhaps I'll pick it up again 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope you do sometime. I've seen some wonderful charcoal work lately by @jerneymarisha at Instagram. I found this drawing so inspirational: It was created on one of her free online lessons It may inspire you to pick up some charcoal as well now @foxyspirit. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Wow that's beautiful!

I lost inspiration because I couldn't think of anything more I wanted to draw. I just started losing interest. I would draw and the more I went the less I finished them. I have a bunch of unfinished drawings.

Perhaps one day that will change. Right now, my life is about kids kids kids lol. So any form of art is done when they are sleeping or it's a quick project with them.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love the colours for them. Almost soothing.

Posted using Partiko Android

It makes me feel really happy that you enjoyed the colours @minismallholding. The blues would help to give a soothing effect while the oranges and tans add a touch of warmth.

I've always loved working with complementary colours in art ie colours opposite each other on the colour wheel, like blue and orange. Generally, you have to be very careful with the proportions of each because equal amounts of complementary colours will result in muddy tones. But just a little of one will darken the tone of the other and give you lovely subtleties. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

You've done it perfectly then. 😁 I've never been great at getting balances like that right. I'd have ended up with muddy. 😆

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @allyinspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 21000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 22000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

WOW. So many upvotes @steemitboard. And every single one of them was worthy of it. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Good luck on your series.

Thanks so much @roselifecoach. I'm still working on the first drawing and hope to finish it tomorrow. I've had to face a lot of self-judgement and criticism ~ Which has been rather challenging but super good in some ways too. I know that we have to see the things that stop us from reaching our highest potential SO clearly in order to move into living that potential. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Wow! So tiny and detailed! Wonderful stuff ❤️

So pleased that you like these little drawings @felt.buzz. I'll be integrating my *magical wands' into some of my drawings as well now too. So many ideas but I'm a VERY slow drawer. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

They are tiny but beautiful. I actually zoomed by mobile phone screen to look at them. And so suitable for cards in wallet or purse if have them laminated. Good to be back onto something that is your passion. Yay!

YES. It's amazing to be back into drawing again after so many years of wanting to Jadeline. Both drawing and painting are my first passion, but something has been blocking me from starting to work with them again. That 'something' is still there, but I'm doing my best to become friends with it now, and now that we are getting to know each other, without (as much) conflict, my art can move forward.

I've always loved miniature art ~ And because I draw so slowly it works for me. So I really LOVE the idea of making wallet cards ~ Maybe they can be affirmations that life IS magical. Thanks so much for suggesting it. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

🔥🔥🔥🙏🔥🔥🔥

Deeply moved as always 💕 Thank you Ally 👍👍 Looking forward to this series very much 😍😍😍

Posted using Partiko Android

So pleased to know that these little drawings touched you April.

The first lines of the quote that came to mind as I was writing/thinking about drawing again are from a friend's song:

Be still:
My terrified heart.

Because the fear of not being able to draw as I'd like to has been so strong. And yet the wish to draw again has been even stronger. I'm looking forward to seeing how the series will emerge now too. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

I like mini pictures, they have lightness.

It's wonderful to be drawing again after so many years of wanting but not being able to Amalinavia. Just small for now but I've always loved working with miniatures anyway. The one I'm working on for Makers Place is a little bigger. Hope to finish it today but way to go still. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Your drawings are very beautiful! I like the smooth transition of color between the individual parts of the picture. I want to use your idea for my drawings :)

Thanks so much Veta. The colours were built up very lightly. In this way you can get graduations of tone.

If you don't blend the colours by smudging them, you will still be able to see the separate colours underneath ~ Because of the texture of the paper. So it's a little like watercolour, in the sense that when a little bit of light orange is under some blue, the tone of the blue will become darker.

I'm really happy to hear that you may have been inspired by seeing these drawings. I'll look forward to seeing how your drawings unfurl now too. You may not have seen Makers Place yet, but I think you might also find some of the work there very interesting. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thanks so much @veryspider and @helpie and all the @helpiecake curation team. My VERY favourite cake made with real organic cacao ~ And brown rice and green banana flour ~ With raw honey and coconut sugar ~ And tiger nut and purple corn. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks so much @c-squared. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png