It's Been A While, But I'm Back!

in #nunavut3 years ago

Lacks! Where have you been!

Said none of you.

Ever.

I kid, I kid. I know my cousin, @OblivionCubed has been wondering how I got a new camera and haven't managed to produce any blogs to showcase the new gear. I took an abrupt and unplanned break from blogging after experiencing a burn-out on continuing to make content. But, I do want to get back into the swing of things. Maybe with more of a focused eye instead of a general smattering of whatever comes to my mind.

My cousin and I have been trying to get our community off the ground for a while, it is a community for Worldbuilding. Whether that world is for a fictional story, video game, or table top roleplaying, all Worldbuilding related activities are welcome! Show us your fictional races, your lore, your languages and governments. Their religions and currencies. (precious metal or digital! We love Sci-Fi!) If you've written something to do with a world that doesn't exist we want to read about it! The Worldbuilding community is also going to start a month long #contest related to our daily prompts soon, with a #prize pool of 150 Hive! That's right, not a two hive top prize. Stay tuned to the prompts coming out to learn more!

Cuddly Sisters (FINALLY!)

But What Have You Been Up To?

Lots of relaxing with the dogs at a cabin beside the ocean. A friend of ours was going on vacation in the south and offered us their cabin to use for the entire month of July. It was amazing to get away from town for a bit and to enjoy watching the sea ice break up and drift away. Pictures with ice in them are from early to mid July. It stuck around for an unusually long time this year. The weather also hasn't been ideal, with only a handful of sunny days above 10 degrees Celsius (50-ish F) all flippin' summer. It was rather depressing, and I wasn't able to get out as often as I'd like to work on my photography. But, I did managed to get a few shots of the unique looking King Eider duck! I'll post a few of those in Feathered Friends sometime.

King Eider Duck

A Fire Pit, And A Frozen July Ocean With Mainland Canada In The Distance!

Millie doesn't feel the cold of the water

Millie patiently waiting for me to go back to fishing.

Skipping Stones

The weather was so bad that I only managed to get about 3 sunsets this year. Every other one has been clouded over and covered. It's mildly annoying since I named my website Midnight Sunsets And didn't manage to get a single one this year. They were either 1 am sunsets or 11 pm sunsets. Sad!

Sunset with the Puddle Crew

Sort:  

Welcome back! Seems like you used the time wisely and got some adventure too. I look forward to more far north photography, especially with the new gear.

It's unfortunate about the weather sucking this year. It's weird for me, living by Lake Superior, to think about the ice breaking up in July....

Respect for quoting Unleash the Archers in your bio! Northwest Passage is an awesome, inspiring song.

A worldbuilding community on Hive sounds like a piece of unexplored territory where we should break some ground.

I quite literally live on the Northwest Passage, on a small island just south of the Helen and Fury straits. 😁 But it is not the Unleash The Archers cover that the quote is from, but the original artist, Stan Rogers, a true Canadian Hero. (he died helping people get off a plane that caught fire) The song and quoted lyrics mean a lot though because it's very true. You come up here to make a living, but in the end, all you find is the road back home. Transient workers are the workforce.

We've been trying to get the worldbuilding community off the ground for about 2 years now, but alas, it's still only me and my cousin that post. There are a few more active TTRPG and Game Development communities as well.