Have I a Fear of Heights Or Fear of Falling?

in #ocdlast year (edited)

The boss delivered me a new toy this week. A JCB S19 30E scissors lift. I think ever since I was a little lad, I have loved JCB's so finally I had one in the form of a hoist. Whether it's a hoist or a full blown digger I do not care. I am now a JCB driver and that's that. So some areas in my work are pretty high so the boss asked me to see how high the vehicle goes. Well the answer to that question is in it's name. A JCB S19 30E can ascend to 19 foot. But how high is our ceiling. Nobody bloody knows. 25 foot, 30 foot so see how far it goes towards the ceiling was my mission. That's fine I replied, I will do that later on and send you pictures.
There were some people working on it so I had the long wait until 4pm today to get my hands on the JCB again and test it out. But I wasn't singing and dancing about the idea. I don't mind heights like being at the top of the Eiffel tower or the Empire state, I would be fine. Walking around no problem. But I would not be peeping my head over the edge of these places either. I more have a fear of falling than a fear of heights. I remember as a child I was sitting on a wall over a building ledge and my fathers friend who was a giant came up behind me and pushed me off. He grabbed me again a second later but if he missed I would have fallen to my death so these days before I take a look over I always check to see if the fathers friend (who is now dead) is in the vicinity.

Now lately I have been trying to overcome the looking over the edge fear so I make it my business to have a look over the edge of any high places I tend to be as a task. Once I have the little look over I have conquered my niggle and feel good about myself.
So off I went to try out the new toy. The joystick is good. You can ride on or or off the hoist. The joystick has a drive mode and a lift mode which take some getting used to. The buttons on the top of the joystick are unfortunately not missile buttons. They are good old boring left and right. I have never controlled a joystick which the fire buttons are left and bloody right so it took a while to get out of Desert Strike mode and into JCB S19 30E mode which is as exciting.

So I learned how to drive the thing and transported myself like a captain of the ship to the place that had the highest ceiling in the Centre and then switched it to lift mode. Before I started the janitor made the final checks on the cage that was holding me in. I felt like Neil Armstrong just before liftoff with his team around him doing the various safety checks. Janitor gave me the thumbs up and I was ready for lift off. I pressed forward on my joystick and nothing. People looked worried. So I tipped back on it and hey presto I started to rise like a phoenix from the flames. I stayed away from the edge as much as you can in a hoist. Up and up I went until it would not go any further. But the stall made it wobble and I immediately regretted my decision. I did not think it would be wobbly up at 19 feet but it was so I tried to stay completely still so the wobble would iron itself out.

I got my security guard to take photos of how far the hoist went and I took a photo myself of the skyline from where I was at. Now I knew what some of the lads felt on top of Everest. Nice view and all that but the weather is closing in and I wanted to get down.

I pushed the joystick forward and the JCB S19 30e let me down like a shitcoin in a bear market. Within seconds I was on the ground again feeling good about my life. What fear of heights I said to myself while I blew the tiles a little kiss.

Am I scared of heights? I do not know. I guess I am. I had no problem going up but I wasn't doing the Riverdance on the top let me tell you. I look at the Irish men in New York building the skyscrapers and those famous photos of them having lunch on a metal beam and it gives me the willies.

Imagine being them. And here's me going on about a 20ft hoist. I took my dad to a match recently and we were in the top tier. He was shitting himself and I never knew he was afraid of heights. It's seen as a bit not masculine if you have a fear of heights and I don't know why. They say if you are a builder you will get used to it but I'm not sure if I could work on something with a risk of falling to my death every day.

Sometimes I have dreams of being clumsy and falling from a height. On my way down I say to myself "you stupid fucking idiot" for getting into the predicament in the first place. All the hippies will tell me what falling in a dream will signify anxiety or stress. But it's amazing in a dream the feeling of falling from a massive height. I did a bungee jump ( yep don't say it) once and it's the same feeling as the dream. That is mad shit.

Over the years I have found way more people who have a fear of heights but deny it. Not many have a fear and admit it. "I'm not good with heights" is the normal warning just before we plummet down a track on a rollercoaster. Peer pressure really gets people doing things they don't want to. I have no problem saying it bu wondering if many people on Hive feel the same.

Sort:  

Did you not have to get training to use this? I had to hang a sign a couple of months back and I had to get full training to use one even though I have been using them for years.
The training was funny. I had to use the dinkiest little things like they were off the set of Thomas the Tank Engine. When I finished the course of online training and this laughable practical I asked so now what can I drive and the instructor pointed to a truck-mounted monster and said you can go as big as you like. I felt like Neo downloading a new skill. I never got to hang the sign in the end but am now a fully qualified Cherrypicker and scissors lift operator. I can also lift a box from the floor and put it on a table, having done my manual handling.

Yeah the training is taking place in the next week. I had the L signs up.

I'm okay with heights to an extent. I think I get a bit freaked out at around 40-50 feet if I am climbing but I can do more easily if it's a safe situation like a roller coaster.

You look like a lad that could go up a 30 ft hoist and be hanging off the edge with a drill (and a bucket) ! haha

That depends on whether it's copper or aluminium flashing.

I am not mad about heights as have been stuck 4 storey's up with my feet hanging over a main road once. Was locked out my dads rental after having a few drinks and thought going over the roof and swinging into the balcony was a good idea. In the end I cheated and lifted the roof tiles and went between the beams and got wedged lol. Long story short my dad arrived home and saw my legs dangling so he helped me down. Haven't been mad on heights since as it was a sobering moment.

🤣🤣🤣🤣 that's funny . Ha

That was a horrible thing to do to a child, that would have terrified me as well, no wonder you have a fear of falling from highs.
I have been to high places, mostly on mountain tops and the like, went paragliding once, which was feckin awesome.
So do we get to see a picture of you in your new toy? xxxx

Screenshot_20220929-171351_WhatsApp.jpg

🤣🤣🤣

I heard we fall to learn to pick ourselves up. I don't see any pictures of that. 😜

You going all batman begins on my ass!!

On the contrary, my friend. You see, the Thomas Wayne Observations on Physics & Growth very clearly state one falls to learn to pick oneself up, yet, here, you've clearly shown you have the uncanny ability to pick yourself up without the privilege of falling. You, sir, are the Batman in the room.

untitled.gif I'll take batman over those blasted avengers any day.

Lol. I like the Batman in the Harley Quinn animated series on HBO. He's all over the place. The whole show feels more like Marvel than DC. It's very playful and takes a LOT of liberty with the characters.

I'm ready for a new take on batman. I see Bruce Wayne's parents getting murdered every where. It's like how the fuck do my cheerios do that?

Yeah he's a bit played out now. haven't seen aul' vampire Rob Pattison yet in the recent one. Heard its actually ok. Irish guy Barry Keoghan playing the joker. He's a good actor but too busy trying to be Heath Ledger. Joaquin Phoenix played the ultimate joker. God I might watch the old ones with Jack Nicolson and Jim Carrey. Wasn't far off the original original.

If into the past you look, only heartache will you find. -Master Yoda-

Dude, they're truly awful. But what's worse is So were you. Don't go stirring ghosts and poking demons that slumber or else you'll remember that time you didn't lose your virginity because you had to take a shit. Do you really need that in your life?

a looooongggggg time to think about your life choices if you jump off a skyscraper.

:D

not sure why but that is one of those quotes that get stuck in my mind, from loong time ago when i played the game.

i am fine with heights when the structure is solid and there is a rail or a wall. it gets a bit tricky when things are moving and the fall is just a step away :D

Some people say you die of shock on the way down but if that was the case there would be no parachute jumping etc.

A lift as a present wow , Hahahha

beats renting them all the time. hahah.

Congratulations @blanchy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 18000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 19000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2022

Heights huh. I wouldn't say I'm scared of it.... I respect it. Fell from a highchair when I was a kid, broke my arm. I then realized that the high is high for a reason. So I left it like that high😂.

Right now the only high I wanna get is the high a pack of cigarettes can bring.

untitled.gif