Beautiful Views From The Air - Part Two

in #ocd3 years ago

28953520727_d9086a3919_k.jpg

I do have to say, I love drone photography, and I thought I would do a series of posts featuring some of my favourite drone shots. As I mentioned in part one of this series, these shots was done using both a Phantom 4 and a Phantom 3 standard, the phantom 4 is a much better camera than the 3, although, I do have the new Air 2s in sight for my next drone, unless something better comes out by the time I have the money to buy one lol.

The above shot is the bridge crossing Ladybower Reservoir, the light and weather wasn't so good when I shot this, but I do like how the shot turned out.

31050204900_97c38f87c0_k.jpg
This is an aerial shot of Mattersey Priory, it was great to see how it looked from the air as I walked around the ruins of the priory. Was a pretty cold day and my hands were freezing after about 10 minutes flying.

31419438225_1bf30c59f9_k.jpg
Just looking over from Mattersey Priory, the river Idle carves it's way through the landscap, nothing special about this shot, although I do like the patched lighting caused by the clouds.

30222311665_3d3af0da5a_k.jpg
Another shot of the Rockingham Mausoleum, my favourite local monument.

39809813724_3687376c31_k_1_.jpg

This is a shot of 2 of my local dams, the dam on the left being The Dog Kennel Pond (Also known as the Second Dam) and the water on the right is called "Morley Pond" this is also known locally as the third dam. There is a story I've been told about this bridge, where the overflow comes in to the second dam, there had been works on the small waterfall that is there, this was way before I was born, however my Granddad worked on this, I never met him though as he died before I was born, however, within the concrete that was laid, there is a bottle with a piece of paper in there and everyone who worked on the project put their names on to the paper. Not sure how much common knowledge it is, but it's a great little time capsule all the same.

39810470714_66afd45214_k_1_.jpg
A different angle of the bridge crossing over the two dams, if you look carefully, you can see Kepples Column on the horizon.

25989495957_a230e81f6a_k_1_.jpg

Talking of Kepples Column, here it is, when I was a kid, the houses behind it and to the left were not there, and it felt like it was in the middle of nowhere, however, little did I know at the time that there was a main road running up to the M1 not far from it.
40819309242_6b57aa6000_k.jpg

This shot kind of worked as I was hovering in the very long shadow cast by the monument, slightly blown out, but, I like the composition, and will try and get a better shot, once I get my new drone.

42477783740_ee3ae9fcd1_k.jpg
Loving the shadows and the warm late summer light on this one.

37243058476_6d3fc54af8_k.jpg

And last but not least, here's a shot of the Mill Dam (aka first dam), if you follow the picture up, you can see the Dog Kennel Pond and The Morley Pond off in the distance.

Thanks for checking out my post, please click here to follow me on Instagram.

Sort:  

Hi @darrenflinders,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am