Exploring Buxton, in the Peak District again!

in #ocd3 years ago

solomons_temple_blended_skylum.jpg

I was looking around my room for a spare HD today, and found an old Iomega external hard drive, not knowing what was on it, I was pleasantly surprised by lots of my old pictures.
These date back to when I first got a DSLR (2013ish), and it was a nice surprise to find these shots. So having spent the afternoon looking through them, I re-processed some of them to post on here.

I remember this shot well, I met up with an old friend who lives out Buxton way, and this was the first time I'd been to that area (or at least, the first time I remember going), and we ended up walking through some woods up a hill towards this tower, the tower is called "Grinlow Tower" and is a Victorian folly built on the summit of Grin Low Hill. It's also known as "Solomon's Temple" as it was built by a bloke called Solomon Mycock.
I'd just got my cheap Yongnuo light and got my friend to stand there with it just to fill the shot, this is two shots blended in to one so the tower looks evenly lit.

solomons_temple_3_ektachrome.jpg
I like this shot, I was trying to get one without people in, but I do think the photographer adds to this shot. One thing you do get alot of up here is people, especially in the summer time on those long walks. But, who can blame them.

img_5445.jpg
From the tower you have a lovely view of Buxton, with the massive opera house dome jutting out the landscape, the railway line running over towards Manchester. I have to admit it is a lovely town.
If you've ever had the Buxton mineral water, this is where it's from. There's even a spring in the middle of the town that pours out the well known mineral water, I was pleasantly surprised as it's warm and not cold like I'd expected.
wormhill_church2.jpg

Not far from Buxton is Wormhill, I've posted shots before of this church, but this is the first one I've posted with it being in daylight. As you can see it's a lovely quaint building and certainly has some character, I love how the roof on the tower comes down.
wormhill_church2.jpg
The walk up to the Church, sadly it was closed when I went so I have no idea what it looks like on the inside.

This is just a short post for me today, but I really hope you like my "early" work.
If you'd like to follow me on Instagram, please click here.

Thanks again for reading my post.

Sort:  

Hi @darrenflinders,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!