Exploring York, and Diagon Alley

in #ocd3 years ago (edited)

lightpainting.jpg
I love York, it is one of my favourite cities, and what I like about it, is that it's not too far from home either.
In this post is a collection of shots I've done through the years, now these shots are averaging around 7 years old, and I know that my photography has come on in leaps and bounds since these were taken. I really want to go back after lockdown for some night photography, especially now I have a full frame camera, not to knock the old Canon 60D that was used for these shots.

The first shot is of my friend doing some wire wool spinning behind the statue of Constantine outside York Minster, I was a bit worried about the sparks as I remembered the Minster catching fire back in the 80's, I didn't want that to happen again.

I've had to upload my pictures using peakd as the ecency app wouldn't allow me to upload anything, if you have any issues viewing my pics, please let me know.

Please click here to follow me on Istagram

cliffords tower exterior.jpg
Cliffords tower is situated near the fantastic Castle Museum and about a 2 minute walk from Jorvick, it's much bigger than it actually looks from the outside, and I was really suprised when I first went in here. Sadly couldn't get a shot without people in the frame.

cliffords tower inside.jpg
The is inside Clifford's Tower, shot using an ulra-wide fisheye lens, I was surprised to see the gift shop type place in there, sadly, spoiling the atmosphere, not sure why they couldn't have put something like this at the bottom of the steps in the tower. It's quite easy to get lost in the walls here.

cliffords tower - view.jpg
I love this view, this is what you can see from the top of Clifford's tower, looking over to York Minster, a view that's probably not changed by too much in centuries.

minster_challenge.jpg

The beautiful York Minster, with the big rose window in all it's glory. I do like this shot in black and white.

minster_03.jpg
The last of the warm sunlight to hit the towers of York Minster for another day. I like this shot for something different as was using a fisheye lense, I got loads of things in the shot, not very often you see the minster like this on pictures.

shambles.jpg
Here's a picture looking down the Shambles, as I mentioned in the description that it was a trip to Diagon Alley, well according to information I have read, that this was used in the Harry Potter films and was also the inspiration for Diagon Alley. There's even a shop at the bottom called "the shop that shall not be named", and (you guessed it) is all Harry Potter stuff, it's great to have a look around.

shambles bw.jpg
Same shot edited and made in to black and white, not sure which I like the best.

Sort:  

Hi @darrenflinders,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Great post, great pics; travel photography is something I should get in to.....if and when we can travel that is lol

Thanks Chris, it's been a bugger not being able to go places. I think I've only been out two or 3 times with my A7iii since I bought it lol