FINALLY! It almost felt like normality had returned

in #ocd3 years ago

knaresborough_210421_0193_edit.jpg

Having had a day off work, I decided to have a drive, not too far, about an hour away, I visited Knaresborough in North Yorkshire.
This is one my all time favourite places, that's not at the coast. Myself and my girlfriend went, and this has been the first time we'd been anywhere in over a year.
knaresborough_210421_darren_flinders.jpg
There was a sense of normality in the air, but caution too. This Covid situation is still bad, this feels like the calm before the storm, as there's a third wave expected to hit us soon.
On the upside, I've found a fix for my dust collector, sorry, I mean my Sony A7iii sensor, so this was a test run of my theory. Please read on to find out more info on this.

knaresborough_210421_0188_edit.jpg

What I did like about today, was that feeling of an almost normal day, apart from the hand sanitiser in the pocket and the mask wearing at times. People were eating out, and as we must do, get on with life the best we can.

knaresborough_210421_0175.jpg

However, you still can't fix stupid, one thing we did witness was some students (I think they were anyway), in Knaresborough, you can walk over the train tracks when it's clear (they lock the gates when a train is on it's way, so there's also a tunnel to walk under if you need to). Anyhow, these people were stood on the tracks, taking photos and even at one point walking down the tracks, until the station master shouted at them, then a pedestrian also told them off, they soon got off the tracks and on their merry way. The best thing is, if a train was to hit them, it would have been from behind as they were on the outbound track to Harrogate.

knaresborough_210421_0145.jpg

Here's a shot of Knaresborough Castle, it is still owned by the Queen and leased out to the council (that's what I think the sign said regarding the lease). I wonder how much she gets from this lease?
You can actually go inside the castle, when it's open, but again with Covid, not sure when that is, there's also an escape tunnel you can explore, again when it's open.

As you can see, the weather wasn't brilliant, it was warm(ish), but at least it didn't rain, as the morning went on, the clouds did thin off a bit, and had a couple of bits of sun poking through, but not for long.

All the shots taken was on my Sony A7iii, I only took two lenses on this little jaunt, my kit 28-70 mm F3.5-5.6, which is surprisingly sharp for a kit lens, I also took my Samyang 14mm F2.8 lens.
What has been bugging me about the camera, is how often I need to clean the sensor, as I'd had Canon mirrorless cameras before (M3), and never had the problem with dust. My theory was that the camera's sensor is still live even when the camera is powered off, so what I had been doing is taking the battery out of the camera, and then changing lenses. Looking through the pictures, on the first test at least, has done the trick to stop the dust, it is an extra step to take when changing lenses, but I would rather do this than having to keep cleaning the sensor with swabs. I will keep you posted on further tests in the future.

Thanks for checking out my blog, please click here to follow me on Instagram.

Sort:  

You seem to be using older or Legacy version of Ecency!
Please install newest version to get most out of Ecency, Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency