In The Kitchen With Kat

in #ocd4 years ago

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies


IMG_0090.jpg

There's always more than a modicum of pumpkin to choose from every fall here on the farm. I'm pretty sure my obsession with pumpkins began when I was a small Kat and attended preschool. My preschool was named The Pumpkin Patch and it did indeed have a pumpkin patch on the grounds. One of my earliest memories was carving one of the pumpkins from the preschool's field into a truly magnificent smiling face with my dad.

I have been enamored with pumpkins ever since.


My adoration of pumpkins is not some seasonal, let me get out my knee high boots and cowl necked sweater, and sip a pumpkin spiced drink type of adoration. Rather, I am in pumpkin mode starting with the seed catalogs arriving in my post office box is late winter. Then comes spring and soil prep for their massive nutrient appetites, after which summer rolls in and it's water application watch, followed by fall and the actual fruit of my pumpkin labors fruition time. They really are just the neatest plants to grow and eat. Okay and carve and explode with various munitions too.

IMG_0088.jpg

Anyway, yesterday I roasted a couple Amish pie pumpkins because I knew that today I would have a chance to puree and construct something out of said puree. After pulsing the pumpkin flesh in my food processor I decided to whip up a pumpkin chocolate chip cookie. Mainly because my son is feeling a little under the weather and I know the not so little guy loves cookies.

He also loves chocolate chips and cinnamon, so without further fanfare, here is the recipe I whipped up:

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup of pumpkin puree
1 cup of sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
2 tsp vanilla
2 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp cloves
1/4 ginger
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cornstarch
1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate)

In a mixing bowl, mix together pumpkin, vegetable oil, sugar, egg, and vanilla until well combined.

Add all dry ingredients to the pumpkin mixture and mix until just blended, then fold in the chocolate chips.

Place the dough into the freezer for at least twenty minutes or refrigerate for one hour.

A few minutes before dough is finished chilling, preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and drop teaspoons of dough on a greased cookie sheet.

Bake for 10-12 minutes, cool on a wire rack, and enjoy the spicy goodness!


IMG_0091.jpg

And I will say, my son ate 7 of these cookies before they even cooled, so in my book that is a pretty positive review on just how tasty they are!


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's pumpkin spiced and not very enticed at the thought of being covered in such a thing iPhone.

Sort:  

and explode with various munitions too.

That is the key right there. Person after my own heart. I LOVE to grow me some squash, but watching one explode after a nice high caliber release is just bliss.

We save so much pumpkin every year that I have it year round from the freezer. Mid May pumpkin bread is really nice to make when the plants have barely poked out of the ground.

Ahh, the vision of squash explosion, such a nice ponder, lol!

There might be a tannerite filled pumpkin explosion extravaganza planned around these parts that shall be taking place shortly, maybe I will film the spectacle, thinking about using the M1 Garand to make it special....squee!

I’m glad to hear you have a never ending pumpkin supply too. Between the zucchini and the pumpkin purée I’m pretty sure that half of my fruit and veg freezer space is taken by just those two items. Also, now I want pumpkin cream cheese bread, lol!

Another recipe to bookmark! I should try growing pumpkins again sometime. I think we had a successful crop once, and a few failures.

Whoa! Do you need a couple pumpkins? I’ve got a nice pile of Amish pie pumpkins, I can send you home a couple with JT tonight:)

It would help if I would read my replies in a timely fashion. ha ha! Sure, I would take a couple, when it becomes convenient.

I will get them to you!

And don't worry, I am still behind on replying, lol!:)

I have tried multiple years to grow pumpkins on my balcony but each year the mold gets them. Although I recently learned that milk will kill the mold, but this year I just didn't have time.

We went shopping and filled and a made a store bought patch. Sacrificed one and made a flour-free, grain-free and sugar free pumpkin pie ... from scratch and without a recipe. So feeling very full of myself. In fact the only plant produce was the pumpkin and we bit of spice.

The crust left a little bit to be desired but I have plan for the next one.

I'll keep you posted:)

Mold huh? Curious to hear how you combat that scourge in the future.

I think your pie sounds glorious! I’m also super curious about your crust plans? I have an almond flour and coconut flour crust recipe that I use when I’m being super awesome eating wise for quiche and pies, you should totally feel all the pride regarding your food crafting efforts, I would have loved to try it:)

I try to eat mostly carnivore and so almond and coconut are not my go to. With this pie I used chaffles, which works brilliantly for cakes. Didn't get dry enough for pie. I am thinking ground pork rinds may be a better choice.

Ahh! I am now super extra curious about your eventual carnivorous pie crust! Also, pork rinds dipped in guac is one of my favorite snacks, now I am hungry, lol!

That does sound gewd:)

Hi generikat,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.