A Fall Homesteading Themed Ramblewrite

in #ocd4 years ago

Plus: Cute Cat Pictures And Antics


IMG_9958.jpg

Today has been as fun-filled and action packed as ever! Wait, that's everyday round here!

This morning I plucked my smoke infused carcass from my bed and headed to the gym. My little hobbit in stature self hates being stuck inside like I have been all week due to the floating particulate char, so I was pretty stoked to go the gym for some interval training. Then weighted burpees were part of the repertoire. Then bicycle crunches, and lunges, and the list goes on and on with multiple reps. Eh, at least I got to do some cardio with my weight training.

Most of the pictures in this post were snapped last night, with the exception of this one:

IMG_9955.jpg

That my friends is a slice of the double chocolate fudge, raspberry filled, milk chocolate frosted and dusted birthday cake I made my cousin. Did you know that I am ravenously hungry right now?

Last night as I strolled to the barn to get the horse's their nightly rations, I was struck by this scene. The sun was a ball of pink tinged glory, and I was in that moment thankful I could even see the giant fire ball, for we haven't been able to see the sun for quite a few days now.

IMG_9956.jpg

It was like spying that big mass of gas flaring in the sky inspired me to snap a few photos, and so, as I went about my chores, I did just that.

IMG_9959.jpg

I mean, just look at these Italian prune plums. My tree is loaded with luscious juicy plums. They will last about 2.6 seconds after I get them out of the tree. My Hawaiians are great inhalers of fruit.

IMG_9961.jpg

Me, I am actually not overly fond of plums, but purple is my favorite color, and just look at that shade:
IMG_9960.jpg

My garden got massacred by an early frost. That horrid event occurred even though I placed protective coverings over the whole thing. So goes life in North Idaho...But, at least with the pumpkin vines dead I can see all the pumpkins.:) Positive waves!!

IMG_9962.jpg

As I meandered back to the house my eyes took in the chestnut tree. Our chestnut tree is a wonderful visual representation of what season we are in. You can see just by gazing at it that fall is upon us:

IMG_9964.jpg

And that brings us to the comic relief part of this ramblewrite: The Adventures Of Pickles.

Now let me start by saying that all of our animals are just a little bit, well, odd. Truly, they don't run away if they get out, and I am talking about any of them. Heck, our seven hundred pound breeding sow tried to get in my front door to see me when she escaped the barn.

However, Pickles is in a class of his own. To start with, the darn creature keeps eating poisonous plants. It's almost like he is training to become a super spy and wants to build up a tolerance to poison or something. Either that or her really gets a kick out of drooling and puking.

IMG_9974.jpg

Today, Pickles decided to help my husband change our truck Rufus' oil. Our diesel beast takes 11 quarts, and Pickles ended up wearing at least a 1/4 of a quart. I just hope he didn't ingest the black gold. I'm not kidding, those puke puddles will suck. He looks like a reject from a Dawn oil spill commercial.

IMG_9972.jpg

Earlier he thought it was a good idea to get into a wrestling match with his brother, a Cowboy corgi, and our German Shepherd hound mix. It went about as could be expected with Pickles taking a bit of a beating and looking all proud about it:

IMG_9968.jpg

I keep telling my friends and family that I am worried the crazy beast is going to have an abbreviated life span. I hope not. His antics are most diverting in a time of smoke and woke.


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's rather bemused at that cat's constant hullabaloos iPhone.


Sort:  

That cake looks insidiously good, but rich. I am surprised you managed to keep the filling.

Do you water your plum trees? They look like they produce about the same size as my trees. My water table is pretty high so some of mine don't need drip.

You have a tripper cat and a pretty solid story line with him and his antics. I could see a series with him. 😅

I hid the filling in the back of the fridge after putting what I needed in the cake. Let's just say it was used on pancakes and is no longer in existence, lol!

We didn't water the plum tree at all this year, because the tree doesn't tend to yield much, but I did put a new bed of strawberries next to that tree this year and they have had plenty of compost, fertilizer, and drip irrigation, perhaps that is why we got some nice plums. Imagine that, something yielding when someone actually sorta takes care of it...Eeee.

I'm fairly certain that Pickle's antics will be appearing from time to time on here, he is just something extra for sure. Right now he is staring intently at my sock. I am concerned because the sock is currently on my foot.

Frost due here in western Mass this weekend, right on time. Third week of Sept is my frost time.

Ooh! You are so lucky! It probably won't frost again here until the end of the month, but I can always count on that one killing frost the first week of September..sigh...

For some reason, the pictures aren't loading well today. I'm sure it's our lousy internet connection. But I can see the gorgeous sunflower, a delicious-looking slice of cake, a beautiful crop of plums, pathetic pumpkin vines that match my cucumber vines (now in the burn pile), and a zany cat. Pickles is certainly one of a kind.

I pulled a bunch of pathetic vines this morning, gonna manure and seed my garden with a cover crop of winter rye, but still gotta harvest the pumpkins, pull out the vines, fold up the landscaping fabric, and dig the potatoes first. Yep, I’m totally gonna get that done, lol!