The Podcast Pontifications

in #ocd3 years ago

Episode Zero: Kat Starts A Podcast


IMG_0061.jpg

So you want to know how much experience I have in audio engineering? A big fat no years experience. Throughout the last few years I have had an inkling to start a podcast though. Mainly because I am really rather good at listening and asking questions, that skill was honed through always being the new kid as a youngin. Another factor is I really, really do like to discuss things, and listen to things, and learn things, and just go about the business of discovery. A podcast seemed like a natural thing to do.

However, there was the whole doing it part. I mean, a podcast is an audio thing, and although I do have some video editing and writing experience in my life repertoire, not to mention that I was also in a band and know a teensy bit about the world of audio, I also knew that I would have to learn a whole lot about recording and editing if I were to become a podcaster.

Then there was this glaring little issue. I had literally no idea what I wanted to podcast about. The constant theme in the entrepreneurial stream is that you have to have a niche. Well, as my most excellent Hive friend @flemingfarm enlightened me the other day, I am a generalist. That means I am a little bit good (and fascinated) by a whole plethora of things, but honestly I am not really an expert at anything. And as I age I am realizing that I don't really have some overarching passion about any one thing. I kinda like all the things really, and I also like to talk about and learn about the things that I don't know about or even like that much.

For the last three years I have been playing Dungeon's and Dragons with some friends every week. One of the friends and I would have these huge existential discussions every week, some of them lasting for hours about all manner of things. One day we looked at each other and said, "We should start a podcast."

And you know what, we did just that.


Here's the great thing, he went to school for audio engineering. The other great thing is that we both have this amazing chemistry when it comes to being able to speak on a topic for an hour or two at a time. A little over two months ago I The Show was born.

Logo 1500x1500px.png

Now, we both really don't know what we are doing, but that's kind of the fun part. Throughout the last few weeks we have learned to use Audacity, figured out how to set up and launch our show on our host (Podbean), got our podcast accepted on the big hubs of listening as I call them (Spotify, Apple Podcasts, and now Amazon), and are honestly figuring out what we are doing as we go.

The biggest thing that we have discovered: we love it!


Another interesting factor is that we really don't want to fit into the current podcasting standard mold. Right now we are okay growing slow until we figure out exactly what our schtick is. Honestly, the whole point of our show is a couple of friends who like to think about topical existential themes and go off on a tangent about them, not really caring where the tangential existentialism takes us. We might not be everyone's cup of tea, but that is what's cool about this audio experiment.

Both Brady (my co-host) and I really just want to engage with people, to have a discussion. Right now in the world there is a lack of civil discourse. Civility does not mean to engage like everyone is having cream puffs at a Victorian tea party, we have no qualms with people disagreeing with us, even in a vehement and perhaps rude manner. What I have qualms about is this current climate where everyone has to be herded into tribes, absolute societal sorting, which requires all opinions and thoughts on all issues to be absolutely shared by those who you identify with.

Let me say it here, that is a horse digestive deposits on a charcuterie board level of nonsense.

I want to hear all the things, even things that might make me uncomfortable. Heck, I might even like the person's socks and thoughts on the economics of turtle shell printed socks in rejuvenating the world's economy. The only way we are going to get past the horrible divisiveness that's so pervasive in our world is to start talking to and listening to each other.

I have friends who vote R, I have friends who vote D, I have friends who don't vote because they think the system is an oppressive illusion and they won't partake in it. You know what? I care about the people, not their tribal affiliations, and I want to hear what they think about aliens or what they think about the keto diet. I want to talk about the water on Mars and how the media is manipulating people into hateful isolationism. Because you know what, I like people's stories and my cohost likes to learn and discover things, so we are going to podcast like that for now.

FOOD!.png

Flavor Town (our episode about food) was one of my favorites, so much fun, and soo much drool!

It's interesting too, because when I logged onto our analytics dashboard yesterday an interesting and pleasant sight greeted my eyes, we had over a 100 downloads of our show. It's nice to know there are others out there who want to just have or at least listent to a discussion too:)

And if any of you want to join in the discussion or just listen to a couple of people topically ramble, you can find I The Show Podcast where you get your podcasts or on YouTube

Also, our podcast is an adult podcast meaning there is occasional language, especially if Brady gets passionate about something;o)


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's imminently capable at playing audio but not so great at mopping the floor iPhone.

Sort:  

So, on top of all the other things you are always doing, you are now a podcaster. Why am I not surprised? Your plate never seems to be full. I think you just keep getting bigger plates. What really caught my attention was the reference to a Victorian tea party with cream puffs. I'd settle for scones, of course.

I am pretty sure that my plate is now the size of a giant's dinner platter, lol lol!

It would sure be nice if there was a legit tea shop around here, I would so love to meet you there for an actual Victorian tea like tea:)

Brambleberry Cottage and 6th Avenue Tea in Spokane are nice places....

Deep conversations are the best and the most fun. There is just something about following the trail and taking random off shoot paths and then rejoining the main trail while taking in the scenery that is so satisfying. It is especially fun when it flows nice and organic like. There are numerous conversations I can remember that I would love to have had recorded so I love the concept. I will be checking it out and subscribing to your channel.

I wish there was an archive of deep and rambling conversations, wouldn't that be the bestest? I'm sorry I didn't respond promptly, this week definitely got away from me, mainly due to having ill friends who have a ton of livestock. I'm sure you know how horrid it is when someone who farms goes down for any reason, it's been interesting!

Oh, and my cohost and I had an epiphany moment this week about what exactly it is we are trying to do, let's just say that we finally figured our mission out and it has a lot to do with questions and thinking and such. My brain actually hurts from trying to quantify it all, but I'm exited about the project and I will let you all know about it as soon as it's ready to launch and stuff.

Ack, that was sorta vague, sorry, lol, it's kinda a deep thing and slightly irreverent. Hmm, I am going to go drink some coffee now, hope you are having the best day:)

Awesome, Kat. I gave you a sub on youtube:)

Thanks Pryde! I returned the sub favor, I didn’t know you had a YT channel, that’s awesome!😊

Great ... not adding much to it. Youtube kept moving the bar for monetization and so I am not sure how much I will post to it anymore. I think 3pseak will get first kick at any videos I make from now on.