Well, Hello Snow!

in #ocd3 years ago

A Early Winter Flooftacular Arrival!


IMG_0104.jpg

All week the National Weather Service has been calling for an early snow storm followed by some very unseasonably cold temps and wind. They were very persistent in their forecast, as most of the time their predictions change frequently.

Friday arrived and with it came the storm. Let's just say that seven inches of snow combined with already frozen roadways and a bunch of newly arrived Imports equaled road carnage. Just down the road from my house was a fifteen car pile up and the State Patrol actually had to shut the highway down.

Me, I was all prepared for the early season snow blast and finished up with all my winterizing animal chores right as the first flakes began to fall. With the temps falling below zero in the wind-chill section, I had to make sure everyone had extra bedding, wind breaks, tank heaters, and extra comestibles. One wants to make sure their animals are super extra comfy when it is gross outside. Ah, who am I kidding, I like my animals to be super extra comfy all the time.

Except my cat Jager, who is currently rearranging my nightstand. GET OUT OF THERE MARIE CATDO!

Sorry, he is a heathen. Anyway, this morning I awoke to the beautiful crisp sight of about seven inches of fresh snow and glorious blue skies. It's days like this that remind me of why Bob Ross loved to paint winter scenes so much, I mean look at these happy trees:

IMG_0115.jpg

I really wanted to just languish in bed like some neo Victorian manor queen and not rise until at least half past noon, but alas, I have a couple of charges to care for who require a strict feeding schedule.

So, warm bottles in hand (greatest frostbite ward off ever!), I began my trip to the barn. Of course our two dogs were in the thick of it snowed my mind is lost mania, they beat on each other all the way to the barn. Miraculously I wasn't killed or had my legs broken, but there were a few close calls.

IMG_0107.jpg

Once arriving at the barn I was greeted by these two hungry piranhas, I mean calves. PCP Rick and Morticia. Rick now has a prefix, the PCP stands for Purple Cheekbone Purveyor although my cheek is now a rather lovely shade of yellow and green.

IMG_0110.jpg

Since it is the weekend, my daughter was actually out helping with morning chores. She usually does the evening chores during the school week, but I tend to do all the morning items of work, so it was nice to have her in the barn so I could nag at her for not doing things right. She started it by throwing shade, and by shade I mean teenage attitude that would be hilarious if she actually considered just how lame her complaints actually sound to the grown adult that facilitates every aspect of her cushy life. Lest you think I am an unfair, ogre of a parent, think again. I love my heathens and give them a lot of room and support, but there was just something invigorating about the crisp freezing air that made me want to throw a heaping pile of you need to squirm offspring mental snowballs at the girl. The altercation ended with a wrestling match and okay, a few hugs and giggling too.

IMG_0112.jpg

These two animals were all full of vigor this morning, and delighted me with a prancing dance that I like to call WOMAN GET THAT GRAIN OVER HERE NOW. Ha ha, the joke's on them, they got even more annoyed when I stopped to take a picture of them. Absolute power!

Before I made my way to the house I paused and snapped this picture:

IMG_0117.jpg

My daughter wrecked the absolute ice crystal covered quiet with a sigh and groan. Poor thing, she really should be used to her mother snapping random pictures for blog fodder by now, of course it was slightly frigid and she was probably just emitting a fear groan as she had to know the whitewashing that was awaiting her.

This afternoon promises to be interesting. Me, I am going to construct a cherry pie for the hubs. The kids however, have a plan to have my girl tow them on their snowboards behind her Toyota pickup. That makes me sure that this post will probably have a follow up post or two.


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's not at all currently play Frozen tunes iPhone.

Sort:  

7" of snow! Too soon! But the first snow is always so lovely. Funny how dogs go crazy in the snow... I get the same attitude when I am taking photos for the blog...

LOL! What's crazier is that it is still out there! It's supposed to be fifty by Friday so we are going to go from January chic to November slop all in about 48 hours. Glad I got new barn boots this year, ha ha!

The dogs are just digging the snow, my heeler/corgi was rolling around in it like she was trying to commit it to memory or something just a bit ago when I was out doing chores. Goofy creatures.

Hope all is well on the East side:)

Love these snow photos.

Awe, thank you jacey! They are saying this winter will be a snowtacular, I imagine there will be more snow photos in the future lol!

Hi generikat,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank so much:)!