Lilies

in #ocd3 years ago

Welcome to #SublimeSunday, a tag presenting you with the unique opportunity to post something a bit different, wacky, crazy or just whatever takes your fancy, initiated by @c0ff33a ☕️

And also #BeautifulSunday initiated by @ace108

^^^^^^^^^^ SublimeSunday / BeautifulSunday ^^^^^^^^^^

There are more than 100 species, and many cultivated varieties of lilies. They also come in various colours. Most lilies grow from a bulb, which in some species develops into a rhizome, which carries small bulbs.

0 Natal Lily 2.jpg

Clivia miniata, the Natal lily or bush lily is a species of flowering plant in the genus Clivia of the family Amaryllidaceae.

It is a popular plant for shady areas, and is commonly seen growing in older established suburbs. In temperate regions Clivia miniata is normally cultivated as a houseplant. In warmer sites, it can grow outdoors and is used in landscapes for its attractive evergreen foliage and showy flowers. This clump-forming plant spreads via rhizomes and is particularly suited for shady areas.

1 Natal lily 3.jpg

2 Natal lily 4.jpg

Lilium (members of which are true lilies) is a genus of herbaceous flowering plants growing from bulbs, all with large prominent flowers. The flowers are often fragrant, and come in a wide range of colours including whites, yellows, oranges, pinks, reds and purples. Markings include spots and brush strokes.

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

I am not sure if these are Lilium longiflorum, or Lilium formosanum. I believe they are sometimes called Easter lily.

10 Lilium formosanum or Easter lily 2.jpg

11 Lilium longiflorum or Eastre lily 1.jpg

I don’t know what these are. Too many similar looking varieties.

12.jpg

13.jpg

14.jpg

15.jpg

16.jpg

Many other plants have "lily" in their common name but are not related to true lilies.

ecency.png

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Follow me if you like to read about Life, Humour and Aphorisms. Cheers!

Sort:  

Gorgeous photos! I can smell those lily's all the way over here!

Thank you Melinda. 😊

I didn't know they like shady place.

Now you know. 😊

Yay! 🤗
Your post has been boosted with Ecency Points.
Continue earning Points just by using https://ecency.com, every action is rewarded (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).

Support Ecency, check our proposal:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

👍Thank you! 🙏

Those are some amazing photos sir Vincent, holy cow! Did you take all those? hey where's the tag about where the photo came from? Are you getting lazy all the sudden? And about that profile photo, was that taken like 20 years ago?

You telling me you have no gray or white hair??? I thought we were similar age, this ain't fair. lol.

Thank you Jonboy. Those pictures of the lilies are all mine - taken with my cell phone, in the Flower Dome in the Gardens by the Bay.

The profile picture was taken last November. It is all right to be envious of my black hair. Most of my peers and younger friends - they are all envious of my hair. Let me tell you a secret. There are a few strands of white hair, and horror of horrors, my hair is thinning. Shh! Don't tell anybody.

lol..the hair thing...I thought maybe you dyed it but then I know you aren't that vain are you? I guess if your hair is thinning a little then you won't be plucking out those few white ones. lol. Have you tried any products that prevent, or supposedly, prevent thinning hair?

Howdy Jonboy. No, I didn't dye my hair. Most of my peers asked me if I dyed them. Those polite ones will ask, "You didn't dye your hair, right?" 😃
I will leave my hair as they are. If I go bald, so be it. 😊

Oh no...a bald sir Vincent? lol...well I reckon worse things could happen! I don't think it will come to that though. So what you are saying is that you have no vanity or ego right?

Hey, you mentioned delegating some HP to earn some since I'm hardly on here nowadays...do you know a good place to delegate and earn some through? Are you doing that to pad your massive wallet? lol.

Howdy Jonboy. I would like to say I have no vanity or ego, but I would be lying. Maybe just a touch. I am human after all. 😃

Yes, rather than just letting your HP be idle, why not delegate them and earn some passive 'income'. I
do not know which community gives the best returns. Let me know if you find out. haha...
However, I delegated some to tipu and dustsweeper, because they are also providing a service, so I thought they deserve all the support they can get. They reward you in Hives, daily.

Are you still looking at your Steem account? or have you abandoned it? You can do the same on Steem. Delegate all your Steem Powers and earn some passive income. 😃

Sir Vincent! Great advice although I probably shouldn't say that because I don't want you to get an ego. lol. I powered down on Steemit so there's nothing in my account basically and besides, everyone I know left there so I had no one to vote for anymore to earn any steem.