Nilagang Baboy (Boiled Pork Meat Stew) Filipino Authentic Dish

in #ocd2 years ago

IMG_20211129_195213.jpg

Our country is rich in history, culture, beautiful places, and most of all in FOOD. Though some of our famous foods had been influence by our past invaders which we adapt not only by language as well as their traditional foods.

Nilaga means boiled and baboy means pork was one of the best food we often had for our lunch that best served with rice. It is a very simple dish consist of healthy vegetable variety such as cabbage, string beans, potato, corn, saba and petchay. It is almost the same with Nilagang Baka boiled beef that it more flavorful. Actually any of these two taste so good and we loved this served while still hot.

It's been awhile I think more than a year since the last time that I cooked nilagang baboy. I don't know why I didn't prefer to cook more often but I am glad today to share to you my simple Nilagang Baboy the cheapest and easiest version you'll ever had.

IMG20211127083632.jpg

  • I'd be using only 1/4 kilo of pork meat with fat and cut into chunks. I washed it completely then I submerge it in my prepare pan with salt and water.

IMG20211127084051.jpg

IMG20211127084428.jpg

  • I let it boil for few minutes and turn it off. This time I took off this white bubbles from the boilinh water. This is just some unwanted residue from the pork meat.

IMG20211127084437.jpg

  • I peeled 3 pieces of potato, chopped garlic, sliced onion and petchay cut in half.

IMG_20211129_194314.jpg

  • I boiled again the pork meat adding potatoes, garlic, onion and salt. I let it cover and boiled until the meat and fat is tender enough.

IMG_20211129_194436.jpg

IMG_20211129_194325.jpg

  • Once the meat was quite tender, I add petchay and add some salt and add additional water. The water evaporates for long period of boiling time so it is best to have more water.

I served it with fish sauce and calamansi and ofcourse with rice as well. This is more likely to be a comfort food for us 'cause the soup was so savory, the meat and fat was kinda team up together and potatoes and petchay gives a special flavor too. I only spend around 100 pesos ($2) over all. This serves only for 2 persons only.

IMG_20211129_194712.jpg

Next time I will make one of my favorite pork dish again and will definitely share it here guys. Thank you thank you so so much for supporting my work. It means a lot to me! This is all for today. See yah :)