How Shooting Heroin Solved My Problems, Or So I Though

in #ocd4 years ago (edited)

You know how when you’re driving along and it’s pouring down rain. Then you drive under a bridge and everything stops. Everything goes silent and it’s almost peaceful.

Thats how I would describe shooting heroin...

safe-driving-heavy-rain-revise

The only problem is you finally get out from under the bridge and everything hits you a even harder than before.

Back in the day heroin was my escape from the craziness of my life. Instead of dealing with my problems I would just ignore them away with drugs. They were my respite. However the problems didn’t go away, they actually compiled on each other and worsened. When I would come out of my sedated state of mind I would find all my old problems along with a whole mountain of new ones. My life just got crazier and crazier, the drugs numbed me less and less. This went on until death seemed like my only way out, I truly welcomed the thought and got extremely reckless with my use. I can recall waking up in a hospital after an overdose bitter and completely ungrateful that my friend dialed 911 to save my life.

Today however I am nothing but grateful to be here and I am enjoying life on a whole new level. Just the simple fact that all the pain and misery I went through serves a purpose to help someone else means the world to me and has given my life purpose.

What changed?

I simply accepted the help from someone who lived in similar shoes before. If you can relate to anything I'm saying and need help please let me know and I will reach out and do my best.

Sort:  

One thing I noticed about Hive is communities. When you post you can choose a specific community. For example, if a post is about healing then you can post in naturalmedicine and that community will support you. Take some time to explore communities on Hive.

!ENGAGE 25

Thankyou for sharing it with us. Appreciated.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thanks @mineapoly - I'm glad you shared this. There's a lot of people in #naturalmedicine who are recovering addicts or use mindfulness strategies/meditation/herbs to counter addiction or keep them from addictive vices that might harm them. Thanks @recoveryinc for this important post. I always appreciate the hard self work it takes to come off heroin - not an easy thing. My best friend went down that path once - now she's a senior vipassana meditator teacher. Thank god she survived three overdoses - the world needed her, as it needs you.
Curated for #naturalmedicine by @riverflows.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus. We're also partnered with another amazing healing group, @adiwathrive - follow for dual language curation (English and Spanish), spiritual, musical and heart centred wellness!

Thanks for sharing. I hope your voice is heard by one person who needs it the most.

Man if it just helps one person its so worth it. I just got a call from someone who read one of my post just to say thank you! It felt great!

Yes I saw this post in #naturalmedicine and I am currently in development and creation phase of the new community health & recovery that might be right up your alley @recoveryinc you can find health and recovery here https://hive.blog/trending/hive-121589 we are brand new.

Oh hell yea man!!!

https://hive.blog/trending/hive-121589
Please join this new community above. It's new not much going on yet but you can be of great help there.