Splinterlands Share Your Battle Weekly Challenge PELACOR ARBALEST

in #oneup2 years ago (edited)


Weekly RisingStar C (3).jpg


Back To Splinterlands -Building My Team to Level 2 Summoners

I'm still playing level 2 summoners, and I feel like I may be stuck here for quite a while. Cost of upgrading splinters to higher than level two at this point seems unrealistic. I still have a lot of cards that I like to upgrade to match level to summoners, or move into a gold foil version. Not to mention all the fun it's going to happen with the upcoming Tower defense games, and rift watchers. I'm sure there will be plenty of rift watch your cards that I need to be able to compete effectively for the rest of this year.

Either way I think playing level two summoners is a really nice spot where there are a good number of cards that have really strong abilities for that level. Pelacore Arbalest is one of those cards.

page br 1.png

Weekly Challenge - PELACOR ARBALEST

Edition: CHAOD LEGION
Rarity: RARE
Element: LIFE
Attack: RANGED
Abilities: DOUBLE STRIKE
Health: 3
Speed: 2
Attack: 2

Reasons Why I like it
Pelacore Arbalest it's one of the few cards that at the low level has the double strike ability, with a base level of attack of greater than one. Not to mention when this is combined with the the new chaos summoner general sloan, that rains attacked gets an additional boost of Plus one. That means if it connects on both hits of its turn it could do three range attack for each turn or a total of six a normal monster. That is a tremendous amount of firepower for a card playing down in bronze.

There are some downsides, it is relatively slow so it has a decent chance to miss a large number of monsters given the amount of monsters that have higher speeds, flying, dodge, or it will do less damage due to the amount of armor that is out there. Its low health and no armor makes it especially prone to Opportunity attacks. Still overall it is a great card that can do devastating damage to a team before it has a chance to really dig into your lineup.

The Matchup

https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sl_5fd94a2b8f7afad162f9e34bc3248b7c&ref=senstless


image.png

MANA: 50
RULES: ENTRAGE - All monsters have the engage ability.
RULES Explosive Weaponry - All Monsters have the blast ability.
SPLINTERS: Life, Death, Dragom

initial thoughts.

This is a really interesting rule set, when you add in rage plus blast damage you can pretty much insure most the lineup will be enraged within the first round two. This can present a lot of issues with certain monsters being almost unhittable with speeds of 8 plus and combinations of flying or dodge. This was a concern for me given I played mostly ranged arrows and very little magic.

I was pretty happy with the construction of my lineup, I feel like if I can manage to hit the team I have a lot of high damage cards that will really have an impact early on, again with my biggest risk being that they don't hit home and therefore I don't do any damage and get wiped out quickly in return.

  • First position Warrior or Peace
    It's a great card - health, high speed and it has demoralized to help reduce some of that melee attack. Typically for an enraged splash damage I think my go-to would be water with all the speed and opportunity cards. Given that wasn't a choice I felt that life was the second best choice given to splinters. Not having Earth with a heavy magic made my choice much easier.

  • Second Position Hero of Beyond
    I love hero beyond, it's a great epic card big damage for decent speed good health and has close range so it can attack in the first position. Having this card second means that it can be healed fairly well while still attacking from the first position. Not many cars out there give this kind of benefit.

  • Third Position Djinn Renova
    It's hard to set up any high mana match in life without this card. Has good health, does two magic damage, and it strengthens all of your monsters with a plus one of health. This can really help set the edge and give you a boost when you're healing.

  • Fourth Position Verari Crystalsmith
    Another must have for most life lineups, the fact that it does too damaged and has tank killed is pretty impressive for rewards card that's only a rare.

  • Fifth Position Pelacor Arbalest
    Let's not forget about Pelacore Arbalest. This lineup it's going to be doing a base of three damage with a double strike taking it up to six, since it's base is 3 without any modifiers it will do a splash damage of two. They could potentially deal six damage to the tank and four damage to the second in line, that's a lot of heavy hitting per round.

-- Sixth Position Prismologist
Last but not least was prismologist. While it already had splash damage as a base for this card, I added it here versus some other cards because it did have two shield to start with and I felt that the opponent might be trying to do some sneak attacks on me. Plus getting a boost to four damage for the tank and two for splash it's always a good way to go in my mind.

page br 2.png

Opponent Lineup & Match Play

  • Cursed Windeku
  • Bone Golem
  • Eleven Defender
  • Disintegrator
  • Mantoid
  • Dhampir Stalker

Overall I'm not really sure what their strategy was. This team almost looks like it's more set up for a all monsters have sneak attack, or all my lay monsters can attack from any positions. Their first four cards are all melee, with only the card that's in the first tank position being able to actually attack. I'm a bit confused, and when I see the lineup I think things are going to go fairly quickly and well for me.

Round 1

Start around 1:00 the thing I noticed the most was that there were 29 actions in this round. Granted each attack will have a splash damage action, and if there is a snipe attack, that can actually be two splashes plus the main attack for three damages taken. Before I start I think it all comes down to if I manage to miss and have some bad RNG, and they managed to hit with their snipe and your true strikes.

I won't bore you with the details of each individual action that you can clearly watch on your own. I will say that I did not miss a single attack. Every one of my monsters hit the first round and did devastating splash damage they lost their first two cards of the cursed when Dick you and the bone column all before the end of the first round. I think that's pretty devastating for a line up and it I think I have it in the back already.

Round 2

image.png

Take a look at the lineup at the start of round 2 things are already tipped in my favor. Throughout the round my luck continues, the equal speeds to slightly behind mean I once again hit every attack. Their tanks face a total of 16 damage with 10 and splash damage if I calculated correctly. Having every attack hit again completely devastates their lineup well I only take minimal damage. They are only left with one monster Dhampir stalker is left in first position on loan and unable to attack while I still have my entire lineup.

Round 3

image.png

This is over very quickly, and I was exceptionally happy with both my RNG and my lineup. Sometimes those things go hand in hand but I felt the lineup played up to expectations although I was expecting to suffer much higher damages and lose many more cards. I was expecting a much closer battle when I was f****** my lineup because I know that death and dragon have some formidable cards when you add in the splash damage and 50 mana.

Overall Thoughts -

It was another solid wind for me, and I think I'd pick the same line up again given my options. I don't think I learned too much from this particular match as a takeaway, given the oddity of my opponents lineup. Not sure why they picked that line up, or what their thought process was. I will freely admit that there have been many a matches where I thought I was picking a all monsters have sneak attack, melee monsters can attack from any positions, only to find out that it was actually a poisoned match, or a healed out match. When you start to imagine realize that you picked a terrible lineup for the rule set, I just quickly pick skip and that could easily be the case here.

The one thing I took away was the splash damage for the Pelacore Arbalest was a huge contributing factor. Getting double strike really wears a monster down in a single turn or can eliminate its shield before it can be repaired. The additional double splash damage can really wear down the opponents line up quickly. Having double strike and splash can be a huge advantage if you choose to go and attack the tank versus trying to attack the middle of the lineup with opportunity or snipe that's is usually favored with a splash.



~~@senstless

1UP-devider-comment.png

#sbi-skip

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121