You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Open Mic week 101 "Almora" (original instrumental)

in #openmic6 years ago

Simply amazing, that was beautiful. I love the tones you get out of that guitar. it really resonates well holding those deep bass notes for very long periods of time. What tuning were you using? I want to say dadgad, but it almost had a bit of a minor sound to it.
I just wish I was that talented, hat's off to you and congrats on another curie vote it was much deserved for that beautiful piece.

Sort:  

Yes, you are right. It is DADGAD. I actually play in DADGAD almost all the time. It is my favored.
And yes this guitar has very special sound. It's quite old and though most guitars get worse with age this one seems to be getting better and better. And I was very happy for the curie vote. It sure helps a lot for getting noticed.

You definitely do well with the dadgad, I wish I was much better, but I am just a 20+ year beginner, lol. My koa wood Alvarez is about 26 years old and has developed a nice tone. I am going to have to get it worked on and the nut is wearing down and causing a bit of a rattle.

Yah, I have to get some work done on mine too, it occasionally rattles. It will need refretting in a year or so. I still have the original frets on it.

Yay, I've had mine filed a couple times but I've got pretty wide divets on the high strings now. Especially around 2 and 3 and 12.