DON'T WORRY - BE HAPPY

in #optimiam3 years ago (edited)

Four years ago one of my first posts on Steemit was a message to myself about not worrying

It was wise and I wish I'd followed my own advice!

image.png

IT'S BEYOND OUR CONTROL

sift666 (65)in #steemit4 years ago

“Whatever is going to happen will happen, whether we worry or not” - is an excellent quote from Ana Monnar

The wisdom inherent in that saying is vast. People are endlessly addicted to worrying – from my mother to about half of everyone who posts anything on the internet. Self help gurus like Louise Hay are constantly saying that what you think about and focus on become your reality. And Carl Jung once said “What you resist persists”. There are many variations of the basic premise that what you focus on, you get more of.

And as Bobby McFerrin once sang, “don’t worry, be happy”

I’m not writing this from a background of being a happy go lucky, glass half full, positive sort of guy. I’m writing it from a history of being a “conspiracy theorist” since well before 911, who has been calling “bullshit” since I first learnt the words “bull” and “shit” and grasped that it was possible to connect words together without hyphens.

Now I could go on about bullshit until the cows come home, but it probably won’t do me any good.

Another big one for me is the whole “it’s the end of the world and everything is buggered” mindset. Really, it’s all a giant collection of monsters under the bed, designed to keep people in a state of fear and worry. But there is a good side to this. As I’ve written on the odd webpage or two, there is no “global warming” or “climate change”, oil is abiotic, it’s not a fossil fuel, so is in no danger of ever running out, there are no “nuclear bombs” (they are entirely a fabrication) and mankind as a whole currently enjoys the highest overall standard of living (lifespan, education, income and all sorts of other cool stuff) of any time in human history.

So here is my thought for the day, and it’s very new one for me – what if the “new world order" is no more real than “global warming”?

 


25 great quotes about worry


• “Worry never robs tomorrow of its sorrow, it only saps today of its joy.”
– Leo F. Buscaglia
• “Worry often gives a small thing a big shadow.”
– Swedish Proverb
• “If you want to test your memory, try to recall what you were worrying about one year ago today.”
– E. Joseph Cossman
• ”People become attached to their burdens sometimes more than the burdens are attached to them.”
– George Bernard Shaw
• “Our fatigue is often caused not by work, but by worry, frustration and resentment.”
– Dale Carnegie
• “The greatest mistake you can make in life is to be continually fearing you will make one.”
– Elbert Hubbard
• “If you ask what is the single most important key to longevity, I would have to say it is avoiding worry, stress and tension. And if you didn’t ask me, I’d still have to say it.”
– George F. Burns
• “When I look back on all these worries, I remember the story of the old man who said on his deathbed that he had had a lot of trouble in his life, most of which had never happened.”
– Winston Churchill
• “Worry is a thin stream of fear trickling through the mind. If encouraged, it cuts a channel into which all other thoughts are drained.”
– Arthur Somers Roche
• “If you treat every situation as a life and death matter, you’ll die a lot of times.”
– Dean Smith
• “When one has too great a dread of what is impending, one feels some relief when the trouble has come.”
– Joseph Joubert
• “That the birds of worry and care fly over your head, this you cannot change, but that they build nests in your hair, this you can prevent.”
– Chinese Proverb
• “Worry compounds the futility of being trapped on a dead-end street. Thinking opens new avenues.”
– Cullen Hightower
• “Worry is like a rocking chair: it gives you something to do but never gets you anywhere”
– Erma Bombeck
• “There is a great difference between worry and concern. A worried person sees a problem, and a concerned person solves a problem.”
– Harold Stephen
• “People get so in the habit of worry that if you save them from drowning and put them on a bank to dry in the sun with hot chocolate and muffins they wonder whether they are catching a cold.”
– John Jay Chapman
• “Somehow our devils are never quite what we expect when we meet them face to face.”
– Nelson DeMille
• “The reason why worry kills more people than work is that more people worry than work.”
– Robert Frost
• “Every tomorrow has two handles. We can take hold of it with the handle of anxiety or the handle of faith.”
– Henry Ward Beecher
• “We can easily manage if we will only take, each day, the burden appointed to it. But the load will be too heavy for us if we carry yesterday’s burden over again today, and then add the burden of the morrow before we are required to bear it.”
– John Newton
• “If you can’t sleep, then get up and do something instead of lying there worrying. It’s the worry that gets you, not the lack of sleep.”
– Dale Carnegie
• “I never worry about action, but only about inaction.”
– Winston Churchill
• “Rule number one is, don’t sweat the small stuff. Rule number two is, it’s all small stuff.”
– Robert Eliot
• “A day of worry is more exhausting than a day of work.”
– John Lubbock
• “Worry a little bit every day and in a lifetime you will lose a couple of years. If something is wrong, fix it if you can. But train yourself not to worry. Worry never fixes anything.”
– Mary Hemingway

These quotes are from http://www.positivityblog.com/index.php/2014/07/16/worry-quotes/

And if you need a few more, here are another 519 more worry quotes - http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/worry

Sort:  

You know, @sift666 this topic seems to come up a lot about the New World Order, and while I have read a lot a tried to find as much information as I could on the subject, I am one that believes in what you think about and focus on becomes your reality... and I've seen the negative side of constant worry as well. I think there's definitely something to it.

I'm totally conflicted on this and swing from researching nwo/agenda 2030/zionist deep state to thinking the more I research it the more I'm helping their psyop - I realise the truth movement is now part of the psyop, but it's like scratching an itch...

I know about scratching that itch! When I got started I was obsessed. I've learned to focus on other things now but Wow... The more I learned, the more I just had to keep going. I think it was driving me a little insane!

The tricky bit is seeing that most of it is true but realising focusing on it makes it more true...

So being aware but focused elsewhere!

Yeah, I'm a bit sketchy at maintaining that state.