Comparison of sleeping systems: Cheap sleeping bag vs Swagman and Woobie vs Jerven bag

in #outdoors2 years ago

You never know how gear will work out until you try it. Unfortunately, it can be challenging to replicate field conditions in your backyard and too risky to try untested equipment in the field. So, after a less than warm night camping, I decided to test some of my sleeping setup combinations more scientifically. While I theoretically had more sleeping gear than needed for the temperature, I had not correctly factored in the wind chill.

PXL_20220320_080500578.jpg

So, here's my scientific test: one room in my house has a small aircon/heat pump unit. I will set this on its coldest setting, quiet mode, and the fan blowing. The coldest setting is 16 degrees Celsius, about 60 degrees Fahrenheit. I will wear cotton briefs and a lightweight merino top. The dog has decided she will keep me company, but she has her bed. I will try each sleep setup for at least one night and record my observations. Something worth noting is that the breeze from this heat pump gets into any gaps in the sleep system - I am directly in its path, and so any holes mean cold air in and warmth out.

Cheap sleeping bag

PXL_20220320_022816653.jpg

This bag is meant to be a three-season bag. It is thick, bulky and heavy. The bag gets used at home when guest bedrooms fill up, but otherwise, I've only taken this into the outdoors that one time my older brother needed to borrow some gear. I used the bag on two inflatable pads and one foam pad for maximum comfort. I am also using an Black Wolf Air Lite Pro inflatable pillow.

The first problem: the bag does not zip up around my fat girth, so I use it as a quilt. Unfortunately, the bag does not drape enough around me as a top quilt. Usually, this would be fine, but this setup was barely viable with a steady breeze finding any ingress. I often woke up with cold spots.

Swagman and Woobie combination

PXL_20220320_013047094.MP~2.jpg

I tied a standard US Marine Corp woobie into my Swagman Advanced Poncho Liner as a double-layered top quilt. I used this with the same three mats and pillow.

While this fit better around my body, the slightest movement allowed in cold air. So although I was cool, I still managed to sleep reasonably well - I wouldn't die, but it's not great.

The Fjellduken Jerven bag

PXL_20220320_022908286.MP.jpg

PXL_20220320_040201348.jpg

In this setup, I used the Klymit X Frame minimalist style sleeping pad inside a Fjellduken King Size Jerven bag because that's a likely gear combination for me. The Jerven's stuff sack was filled with random items to form a pillow.

At first, this setup took some time to get right. Jerven bags are intentionally ventilated to help combat condensation and reduce the chance of suffocation. I had to position zippers and grommets to avoid letting in too much wind. Also, the King size is a large space for a body to heat, so I folded the excess around me as much as possible.

It took a while, but the Jerven bag became warm enough to sleep. I slept pretty well for a few hours and woke up warm. My previous experiences with the Jerven bag were similar; start cold, wake up warm. Perhaps I should do a few squats and jumping jacks before getting into the Jerven to heat it sooner.

Bonus round one: Swagman Advanced and Basic as a top quilt

Due to weight, I'm unlikely to carry this combination into the field. Still, I decided to test the Swagman Advanced and Basic Poncho liners as a top quilt.

Similarly to the swagman and woobie setup, it took some tucking to shut out the breezes and moving would require re-tucking everything. However, the thicker insulation on the Swagman Basic was much warmer and the setup more forgiving.

Bonus round two: Swanndri Bush-shirt and Jerven Bag

A Swanndri is an itchy and thick wool tunic that's quite traditional in New Zealand. As an outdoor garment, this thing is fantastic! However, while I was warm inside this combination, the itchiness of the wool directly on my skin made sleep nearly impossible. Apparently, one gets used to it, so I might experiment with this combination more since it would make an excellent load out.

Dog

PXL_20220313_164408177.jpg

Here's my dog not in her bed to give you a sense of how difficult the breeze made things. She is a labrador - famous for swimming in icy cold water and with a thick double coat that sheds everywhere. She is a rehome and spent the first four years of her life as an outside dog. Although she had a kennel, she preferred to dig a nest in the dirt and curl up there if it wasn't rainy. Maybe she's become soft in her time with us, but even she found the temperature too much. She'd make her way onto my bed when I left the room and refuse to move. I usually took pity on her more and covered her over and let her be. Usually, she hates being covered, but in that constant breeze, she preferred the covers. Twice she woke me to tell me she was too cold and wanted to be covered.
So, yes, this is indeed a tough test if it chills a labrador!

Conclusion

Wind chill is a tough test - I am glad to conduct these tests before winter camping. The most bulletproof combination was the Swagman Advanced and Basic. However, the Swanndri bush shirt and Jerven bag show the most promise if I can get used to the wool itch. I have some other sleep system combinations to try, including parts of a US Army ECWS sleeping system. Until next time.

Sort:  

Congratulations @eturnerx! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 5 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Uhmm ser.....all these gear....are you preparing for an end of the world type of apocalypse or something else we should know about? Because........I’ve got just one Jean jacket 🧥

Haha. Different gear for different situations. Though, once I have a set i like I'll sell / give away the stuff I don't use.

Thanks very much

Thank you so much sir @eturnerx for your kind support on my post today. Keep supporting! Have a nice day 💖

very 'cool' testing. I think the dog approves! :P Ever tried one of those space blankets? Do they work at all? maybe as a layer?

The mylar space blankets work very well - but you must be careful because condensation can build up in them. From people I know who've used them, you basically stay inside warm and damp until the sun comes up and you can dry out. It's common now to tape a mylar space blanket inside a USGI style poncho, then tie in a woobe (poncho liner) to produce something called a "Ranger Roll". This is okay for quick naps in the outdoors.
I do carry a mylar bag with me most of the time in the outdoors because they are so small. You can see me test one to destruction here:
https://hive.blog/outdoors/@eturnerx/mylar-survival-bag-review

As for a more permanent setup - the Jerven bag is a option if you're okay with the expense and carrying the weight. A Jerven bag is much tougher and is mylarised too.

cool! I always wondered if/how they work.

Thanks for the upvote ;-) !CTP

cuddle_teddy3.png

Thanks soo much for your kind gesture
I really appreciate it so much.