My EDC haversack dump March 2022

in #outdoors2 years ago

Gear is useless unless it's at hand when you need it, and so I always like to carry a few items with me in a haversack. Unfortunately, I haven't been paying attention for about a month, so the contents have self-evolved. So let's do a bag dump - for me, this is an audit. Remember to think through your situation and carry gear that works for your situation.

001 Bag.jpg
The bag of choice is a USGI Molle Sustainment Pouch with a random crossbody strap held on by two carabineers. However, the strap is too narrow and short, and the Molle attachments can sometimes abraid my clothing. The bag's drawstring adjusts to carry more or fewer items. I have added other clips to attach things to the bag.

002 Contents.jpg
The contents of the bag from top-to-bottom left to right. A spiral-bound A5 notebook and pen, drawstring bag of "powerup" items, a 160gsm merino shemagh from North x North, keys, sunglasses in a case, Victorinox woodsman pocketknife, a torch, reusable shopping bag, card wallet, a reusable shopping bag of miscellaneous items and a rain hat. That all looks good so far.

003 Powerup.jpg
A padded mesh drawstring bag contains the powerup items; a power bank, USB wall charger, mint oil, micro-USB charge cable, earbuds, 2x sweets to powerup me, and a USB-C charging cable.

004 Misc.jpg
The miscellaneous items are a spare mask, a tube of hand sanitiser, two hanks of 550 paracord, a mini roll dog poop bags, a thin plastic bag, a multitool, a mini first aid kit, a tube of lip-gloss, soft joint support for my knee, a biro pen and a mini-sharpie permanent market.

So what's missing? I usually carry about 200ml of water in a soft bottle, but my previous soft bottle sprang a leak when I used it as a hot water bottle to warm up an old lady. Also missing is a rain poncho, my NxN hooded neck gaiter, duct tape and more food! I must have gotten hangry someplace because I usually carry an OSM One Square Meal (333kcal) bar.

The first aid kit is missing paracetamol (acetaminophen) and a sizeable waterproof band-aid. I need a better way to organise the miscellaneous items, so I'll find a zippered pouch for those.

There might be too many items, but I generally get good use of everything in this bag. For example, just today, I used the sewing kit (in the first aid kit), the multitool and the SAK to repair the zipper on my mother-in-law's handbag. The things come really in handy when I end up being out and about for a few hours longer than expected.

What are your favourite EDC items? Until next time.

Sort:  

:) Nice. EDC is one topic I enjoy (like to watch youtube vids on)

I used to carry a messenger bag, but have downsized to a fanny pack now. I wear cargo pants when I go out, so also have stuff in pockets.

it's kinda funny, but the one thing I use most often is my little meds container (one of those lipstick size travel advil containers) which I fill with ibuprofen and Loperamide (Imodium).

what exactly do u use the mint oil for?

Yeah, EDC is always a very personal thing. This is mostly urban EDC with a surprise day walk thrown in. A pair of undies, socks and a tooth brush and it's now an overnight kit too. Great reminder on carrying Loperamide - I haven't needed it often but when one needs it, you need it!

I use the mint oil for a lot of things: mostly easing migraine symptoms and nausea. Though, mint oil can also mask bad smells, ease headaches, ease stomach issues, repel insects, ease insect bites, mask itches, clear blocked noses, soothe a chest issues, open up a scratchy throat (useful for public speaking)... I have used mint oil for all of these things. Mint oil is not necessarily the best (or cheapest) for each of these uses, but it works well enough for some many tasks to justify the cost and weight.

nice multi purpose item. I think I'll get me a small bottle and add that to my EDC. thanks, :)

That's cool and making it very effortless trying to carry tools around. Just pick the things you need and put them in the pack. Very handy

My favorite is Katadyn BeFree 0.6L Water Filter.
I really can't bring much water,too heavy.
Have a great day.
!LOLZ
!PIZZA
!PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM tokens to @steem82868, @eturnerx

remaining commands 4

Buy and stake 10 PGM token to send 0.1 PGM per day,
100 PGM token to send 0.1 PGM three times per day
500 to send and receive 0.1 PGM five times per day
1000 to send and receive 0.1 PGM ten times per day

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

Create a HIVE account with PGM from our discord server, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444

Did you know that protons have mass?
I didn't even know they were catholic.

Credit: reddit
@eturnerx, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @steem82868
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (4/10)

Actually I've been looking for a Katadyn BeFree 0.6L for this bag. The local stockist were out out of stock of the colour I wanted - good reminder to check again thanks. For the most part, this is an urban EDC so 200-250ml is sufficient to whet my thirst or clean my hands until I can buy a bottle of water or find a potable water tap.

Maybe add a small multi tool to supplement the Swiss Army knife? Pliers have a zillion uses.

There is already small multi-tool there with an LED on it (Black and next to the SAK). I wouldn't call it ideal since that MT doesn't have scissors. I'm on the look out for that elusive perfect MT that also reasonably priced. For now, SAK and multitool it is.

…a thin plastic bag, a multitool, a mini first aid kit…

Duh, gotta work on my reading skills.

One more amazing thing for travelers.
It helps me so much during hiking trips.

Although this bag is intended mostly for urban usage, there is quite a lot of overlap with the basic kit I carry when hiking.

That was awesome.

your story is very good. it's a very suitable equipment to carry. You have written well about your gear story. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to read it.

good luck

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@steem82868(5/10) tipped @eturnerx (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Wow nice sir 😊

Congratulations @eturnerx! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 93000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 94000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from April day 6
NFT for Peace - Feedback and new city
Our Hive Power Delegations to the March PUM Winners

You liké to have many things , useful , it is great

!hivebits