You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dehydrated rice test

in #outdoors3 years ago

interesting. So you just pour boiling water on top of the dehydrated ride to heat it up and make it soft? Does that not make the rice too soggy and wet because I imagine you need to at least cover the surface, which then makes it congee like...

Sort:  

The rice is dehydrated alot, it's not a bit hard. I should probably do a weight difference test next time.
Covering the dehy rice in boiling water and leaving for 15 mins made it decent again. Not too soggy and definitely not congee 粥 like at all. Ok, it's not as good as freshly cooked rice, but it's at least on par with reheating rice in the microwave.
I don't wash the rice, but I suspect that washing the rice might help even more.

You mean you don't wash the rice 米before you cook it? That's a big no!! 😮

I'm really intrigued with this whole process now, might try it myself to see how it works.

Thanks

Washing the rice 米? Depends on the quality of the rice, the type of rice and my intended dish. At most, I might lightly wash it, but usually no.