I Woke Up The Other Morning

in #outofthinairlast year (edited)

It was the day before Christmas Eve which falls annually two days prior to Christmas and exactly nine days before New Year's Day but wait. There's more to this story than that.

My phone was broken.

With the exception of maybe immediate family dying unexpectedly, not much compares to a broken phone first thing in the morning.

Not just any family, either, immediate family. Has to be someone significant like a sibling. Whole siblings only, no halfers. And parents. Possibly even grandparents if you're close enough. Not a cousin or distant uncle you haven't spoken to in 10 years. I'll trade my phone for a second cousin I've only seen at a couple funerals said no one ever.

I would opt for a broken phone if forced to decide between a broken phone, a corpse lined street out front or superglue laced eyelashes. Don't b𝘭i𝚗k!

There's worse things to wake up to I guess.


30142DC0-92CD-47BC-AB9F-09DB30F65CF9.jpeg


That's an old photo. Been a repair or two since then. There's nothing wrong with it in that glamorous portrait by the way, just looks like there is. You're an instant recipient of unrehearsed comments starring your phone when your phone's pink. I've heard it all. It's been called everything from contraband to lunch.

No mistaking it now. New screen, breathed heavily into the camera lens myself and polished it with my t-shirt. Cleared the cache and some other technical jargon. Increased the cloud space, picked up a new case and viola!


68A8FBE5-07C1-466F-BE4C-16CEC7C3A979.jpeg


Don't hate. It's an iPhone 8.

I'm not even sure what number they're on now—Apple. Last I heard it was XR or XM or XR Plus or maybe that was a Musk.

I got it in 2017. It's been a spectacular phone. The thing's sent and received only it knows how many messages. Accessed countless websites with it in multiple countries even. Written 100's of blogs on it. Listened to more songs than I can remember with it. Streaming too. No idea how many hours of crazy doorbell cam footage has played on it. Before that day before Christmas Eve, I leaned heavily on my phone for everything and then:


981F0D41-E18F-454E-B679-C23D5CC2949A.png


WTF is that⁉️

I'll never know how to properly prepare for the other side of the door again if the thing's stuck on zero. I need a new phone. Not looking forward to that. Transferring information and importing wallets and all of those authenticator keys—pita.


CEFB16AB-F15A-4617-901F-3CF119FF3249.png


Feels like what, dash 18? I don't even know what that means, "-18." Looks foreign.

First thing in the morning and my phone's stuck on zero and feels like something completely different. Neither seem realistic either. 2017, that's a long time. 5n1/2 years with the same phone and suddenly it has feelings and wants to be called something it isn't.


FAC9D1F02A3847C8B80EA048A93E898A.jpeg

Sort:  

I still remember Dan loves Pink :)

I have never experienced -18-degree weather, must be freezing

May your new year be prosperous and joyful @dandays :)

Happy New Year sweetest Trang.

That's the coldest temp I've been in too. Guess maybe I should've clarified that's 0 and -18 Fahrenheit which is -17 and -28 C. Brr!!

We slept in long sleeves with the heater and the fire going for a couple nights. = }

Always a pleasure when you stop by Trangbaby.

A pleasure as always Dan :)

The weather has been all over the world. I was saddened to read about Buffalo's recent snowstorm. I hope the weather getting warmer there and take care @dandays :)

why the heck do you have a pink phone sister?!!!

Hope you had a great Christmas in your new home!!

It was such a nice Christmas. Thank you. Pura put together a delicious spread with quiche and salad and all kinda good stuff. I hope you enjoyed yours too.

Story time.

I've had a pink phone way before pink stuff was cool. I developed a theory a long time ago, even tested that theory twice. Don't want to, never want to, but did and it worked both times.

Figured if I lost my phone, someone will find it and assume it's a chicks phone. Any other color won't work, they'd just take the device and do whatever with it, I'd be back at the phone store signing my life away and never see my phone again.

Pink, however.. You can leave it in an Uber car of all things, inside the shopping trolly, they're less apt to steal it and more inclined to find the owner. So when a woman (Pura) calls the thing, now their suspicions are true and they do anything they can to get her back her phone.

I'm two for two. = }

Much love Ms P!

Feels like what, dash 18?

😂😂😂

I don't know what you are talking about!?!? I checked quickly my phone and completely different things were shown.

Look:

IMG_20221230_094614.jpg

Oh... might be that the data is not the same as my phone is not pink and it's not an Iphone either.
Well, the place is different too...

😉

Pay no attention to all the edits. Apparently my spLeL check and weather app are on strike.

Well, other than color, brand, service provider and location, our phones are identical. = }

Good morning afternoon or evening Mipiano.

That's twice now I think I should've clarified Fahrenheit. 0 F is actually Dash17 C and Dash18 F is the equivalent of penguin toothpaste.

Always a pleasure when you stop by. Thank you.

hahaha, I saw the avalanche of incoming messages 😂

Of course, our phones are identical, those are just little details... we don't pay attention to them :D

Hm, yes, I thought you were talking about Fahrenheit, I just didn't know how much it was in Celsius 😅

If you don't want to freeze, maybe run around Atlas in the house 😇

I am confused. What is wrong with the phone again? It is not charging? If that is the case then find a slim and thin enough utensil to wrap with lens cloth or a lens paper thing with some rubbing alcohol and gently clean the charging port and contacts. Often dirt and pocket lint will clog up inside the recess of the phone.

OR

Get a new phone already and start taking 4k pictures and video for these popular blogs of yours...

New Year Celebration GIF by Susanne Lamb

First Dash18 and now this, 4k, how many kids does Elon have??


Whaddup! That's the coldest weather I've been in. Was in Wyoming once when it was 4, I remember a German Shepherd outside a convenience store with icicles hanging from its face. Colorado when it was 2, but never felt like a Dash18!

The heater had such a tough time maintaining dude. Sleep in beanies and sweaters? Shoooot. You know it.

First of three HVAC guy's scheduled for 15 hundred today.

Brrr!

I was not too sure if that was the punch line but yeah I feel blonde now... My blonde hairs have turned grey, white, and red but still yet the blonde remains a part of my being clearly.

Yeah I was also in Colorado for my coldest weather but it is weird in colorado with the weather cause it really doesnt feel that cold. Maybe it was because I was in my early 20s and going out to club beta. I may or may not had been tripping balls and walking around in flip flops, shorts and a shirt in the snow that was a foot deep. I forget but I do remember one point in which I was staring at some cool lights on High street when a car from what seemed like a fast and furious movie pull up and ask for directions to High street at 1 am. Despite the gold chains and silver teeth they were friendly but kept asking over and over again for directions to High Street and I kept telling them that it was High Street. At the time I was wondering why they laughed harder and harder after asking the same question over and over again. They must had been high... Cause I cant remember if I was... 😎

untitled.gif

I almost forgot to mention Colfax. That's a good street for good things.

Colorado. What he said. Elevation or something, I don't know what it is, it goes through you. 17 in Vegas is way colder than 2 Colorado.

And the stuff on the ground, don't know what it is. Can't make snowballs with it so it ain't snow.

I think the coldest I have seen was upper 20s there but for a day or two as a low.

The stuff on the ground... I remember once I found a pre roll joint at the entrance to the mirage 😎

Remember '08 when it snowed and stuck? Got to the house later after work and there was still snow in the yard.

Yes, people, snow. In Las Vegas. Enough to stick and cause pileups on the 15 and stuff.

I was not there for that snow flurry. I hear the snow stuck on the ground for a few hours then. I was growing the devils lettuce in Sonoma!

Who uses a pink phone case?! 😏

Try it out, you'll never lose it again and have to post about it and put your sister on blast and stuff.

Whaddup. Hey thanks for the reblog. Got a date with your camera this weekend or what?

😅🤣
I will get it for her

Bro, I have the 8 too. People rip on me all the time for it. But it does the f'in job and I like it, so f off, lol.

That's two 8's that are unlocked. = }


Long time time no see, how the hell are you? Proud owner of a 6-pack of restaurants yet?

Have you seen the zooming capabilities of the new phones though? Dayum.

All good here bro. High season is humming and I’m busy AF. You?!?

Just a single brewski bar so far. Hoping to add one more by high season next year, stay tuned.

I’ve seen the zoom and some other perks, my sister is always getting the newest one....still happy with my 8 tho.

HNY bro!

My wife just started working at Virozon. She got the iphone.. it's upto 14 now. There's a pro model too.

i just did a post about it..

https://peakd.com/hive-147010/@chinito/damn-u-appl

:P

I've messed around a little bit with the zoom capabilities on those new ones. I'm really making it hard on myself.

I think you have gotten a lot out of the phone, it has lasted 5 years, you can't complain, we are currently buying a phone, we have not used all the functions and another version with better features is coming out, regarding the pink color, no problem , currently nothing is weird hahaha, I'm not saying you're weird hahaha, just that it's a normal color like another

What's up Lupega? Did your buddy say Moo when you called him a cow? = }


It's been a good phone. There's been a few times I threatened to trade it in for a new one and whatever it was doing to piss me off, it stopped. It just keeps working.

Hey happy holidays man. Don't be a stranger.

Man, last week I was dreaming of -18 so my truck might finally start again. I like your American weather app that has to explain wind chill to you warm blooded bastards.

You dream about weird shit.


Whaddup. Nice to see you again. If wind chill is what it is, then why do we call it temperature? How in the hell can it be 0 and Dash18 at the same time?

0 sense.

It was -40 last week so -18 would have been welcome.

Up here they don't need to tell us that the wind can make it feel colder. They just say "feels like" and leave it at that.

Feels like I understand why you have weird dreams now.

Where Are You Waiting GIF by This GIF Is Haunted

Ever been there? Shining Hotel, Estes Park, in Colorado. I've been there a couple times. One thing for sure en route there is wildlife; goats, elk, sheep, all of it. The hotel is pretty isolated.

Story goes; Stanley Kubrick stayed there and got inspired to write The Shining so he stayed at the hotel until the novel was finished.

Only time I've had Rabbit Confit actually. Wasn't a fan of it. Never had it since. But the restaurant on the ground level was fancy! It has copper, like real copper, ceiling tiles.

!WINE
!hivebits
!PIZZA
!LOLZ
!BBH
!CTP
!ENGAGE 100
!LUV
!BEER


Hi @eii, You Do Not Have Enough WINEX Tokens To Make Another Successful Call.
Please Stake More WINEX Tokens.
(We Will Not Send This Error Message In Next 24 Hrs).

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.151


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

!MuchThanks

Happy New year @Dandays! With the action of the holidays, I almost missed your post. Probably the fact that the cover image was your old but new iphone (did not see it at first, almost like if the pink color wanted me to skip it 😅). Who cares if it looks like pepto-bismol, as long as it works. It would still be a mini nightmare to see my breaks. I heard that in some place in Japan, the flips phone are making a comeback using retro colors, so you are maybe in advance o a trend 🙃. Always nice to heqr from you, I wish you all the best, take care and if you ever come to Canada , you will notice that it is usually always in the minus (celcius system).

Hey what's up Peg, happy new year. And just like that, we're already two days in.

I should've known retro phones are making a comeback. Did you ever have an LG flip? Those things could take a beating. That was way back when there wasn't screens like now so they didn't break.

Cheers to you and yours.

Hehe, hell ya, those lgs, sony and thr classic nokia (i still have them somewhere actually). The nokia does not flip but you can literally throw it on a wall without any worries. Would be great to use it again...if it could accept internet (but with an 1x1 inch screen...yeah maybe not). 2 days in 2023, already up to a great start 😀

il_794xN.1356269966_54rl.jpg

WTF did I just read out loud to my best friend and wife..?

Looks like another comment/reply gone wild.

Waaaaaaiiiiiitttt for it...

WTF Street

I'll be right there, traffic's a mess on puppy love lane.

Awwwww...

Mumbling Pegs Engage !!

Gotta show my @pooky-jax this lil darlin'.!!

You guys are awesome. We love animal people...

untitled.gif

untitled.gif

Wow that's a bit scary comparison! Hope siblings are OK!

Btw I made your 2222 followers:).

Hey that's cool. Thanks for pointing that out.

See you got first blockchain birthday coming up, congratulations. I'm glad you found the joint. Let me know if you get hung up on something. I don't know everything but I'll teach you everything I know.

And thanks for the comment. Not until right now did I realize I didn't vote your content on our other conversation. Total dick move. Sorry about that.

Thanks for the congratulations! And no worries at all for the votes.. happy to be chatting!

Thanks for the congratulations! And no worries at all for the votes.. happy to be chatting!

Dude, you're way behind in tech. Don't you know you don't need a phone now? You can do everything with your biometrics. Check out Whole Foods new installations. Plug in and get connected. I bet you could change the colour of your skin to the same pink as your phone's case, so nothing will be missed with the upgrade.

But if not for the phone, how would I respond? In the flesh with real life emotions and reactions, are you mad?

Hello. Did you enjoy the content? Good, cuz I'm not a content producer exclamation point.

I was gonna say I'd love to but I googled and AI'd and photoshopped and enhanced and, unfortunately, the tattoos don't go with pink. Guess I'll just be white then.

But if not for the phone, how would I respond? In the flesh with real life emotions and reactions, are you mad?

You are so behind with tech. You can direct link if you're plugged in. No phone needed.

Of course I enjoyed the content...we are talking about YOU here, so isn't that a given? I laughed a little too much at several things.

Until you get Viva Magenta as your colour, I will be disappointed in your pinkness. You could have that in tattoos and go with pale pink skin.

You did what❓

I'm totally serious. Super glue laced eyelashes suck!

I laughed at too many things I'm not going to comment on directly.

When you superglue your fingers to your nether regions, let me know. Also, including chili peppers will up the experience.

When we were kids, my buddy Ryan had filled a Visine bottle with jabenero juice. Think of the lengths he went through to do that. Funny. Had it for months. When we'd go to parties, it was always easy to know what poor chick just pissed.

And then one night he rinsed his eye with it. It ended there.

I probably shouldn't click send right now.

There are no emojis for how funny that is. Nature has a way of balancing things.

p.s. You should see the concoction on my counter. It went from green to orange brown from the load of fresh ghost peppers I dried, crushed and added to it. Guess what I'm going to do with it? I'll let you know if I'm still alive afterwards.

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@eii(3/5) tipped @dandays (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza!

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

@bhattg, does this mean I can use your phone?

which phone?

One with a less painful weather forecast, please, and an extra large summer. That's all!

Getting a new phone does indeed suck frozen poles in Asheland two days before Christmas. I got one because I wanted the good memory space and the high quality camera for making crow videos. I've barely had the damn thing a year and haven't even finished paying it off and wtf, it's outdated already.

Pink is a good color.

Happy new year crow lady good phone. All that swing dancing with your niece and you're uninjured, smooth moves.

I'd like a new one. I've dared this one several times to break and threatened to replace it with a younger model if it does and the thing's refrikkinsilient.

Pink lighters too. But since before it was cool. Pink shit used to be tough to find. You know what I mean by shit. Used to be they'd think it's funny at a party or wherever to announce they found a pink lighter all laughing Ha! Ha! Worked great, I always got my lighter back.

Fireworks. '23. Fireworks. Confetti.

I swungdanced with my niece?
I have a niece?
Somebody needs to let me in on more of the family secrets.

Pink used to only be available if it had Hello Kitty on it. Yes, I know what you mean. My lighters always got stolen, though. I was in a latin rock band with a bunch of stoners.

Happy New Year iPhone text message style.
untitled.gif

Sounds like good music.

I kinda moved and turned a couple things. Readers are allowed to do that, its recommended. But it's all there, I saw it.

I was actually line dancing with a piece of salami on a stick. But whatever you see, whatever inspires you.

It was indeed good music. And a good time. Hot damn. Everyone was boning everyone else and pretending it was a secret.

I test drove a couple salami jokes right here but they were cheesy.

Sounds like a restaurant. I never worked at one or anything but all the stories make me jealous. What'd you play? Got any links?

Salami jokes can be misinterpreted pretty quickly so it's probably a good thing you test drove them first. Don't want me slamming the laptop shut in your face and then going back and sayin wait, what was my previous comment? when it's too late and look what I did you're missing a couple keys and holding an ice pack to your bloody screen. Sorry, it's a knee-jerk reaction after being in too many bands with too many boys.

I played sax. It was back in the days when if anyone actually had a cell phone it was a flip or military grade car phone and amazon only sold books and recoding shows had to be done with a tape recorder or a professional. We made a couple CDs but uploading music to a website was too expensive for a band who put all their funds in a shotglass or an eightball. The whole thing would make a worthy read, especially from the perspective of a chick back in the days when sexism was still kind of ok.

I'm still waiting to kick the can, #justsaying

Is that how you find your way home?

No, I follow the scent of dead bodies to do that.

Is it just me, or is ecency not working right? I had to switch to peakd just to reply to your comment.

I'm on keychain now. I've switched servers, signed in and out, Ecency's being janky.

Been like that for a couple weeks huh? Someone said an update's in the works. Someone didn't say when.

Okay, so it's not just me. Yeah, it's been up and down for a few weeks. No ETA on when, yup. Oh well, hurry up and wait and be patient and all that 😏 Peakd works, I'm good.