Sort:  

Fuck man, that's a lot of backup plans, sorry to hear it.

I believe that the marines originally parked him down there, but he chose to stay. I'm a little familiar with N and S Carolinas. I know that where my brother lived, everything was bitey and pokey and swampy and poisonous. They have heat, and hurricanes, and there's fossilized shark teeth everywhere you dig. Trees are quite lovely though.

I know more about Mass than either of the others, but feel free to ask about any of them. Worse that can happen is I don't know.

Fair enough.

We've visited both in the past, a couple weeks in each. SC, like you said, a bit too swampy for us. Temp wise, we'd rather not which is probably why it's a little more affordable.

Each time we went to NC we really enjoyed it plus the weather is better even if just slightly. Virgina Beach, we've spent a couple weeks there too, too wintery. So about the middle is Wilmington and Wrightsville Beach. Pura would want to get back in food distribution and those, being big cities, would make it easy for her plus weather would be comfortable'ish. We love Ca but been there done that, her family and all my friends are there but visiting a couple times a year is plenty.

Wherever it is, we factor would only be a 10 year stop anyway. At some point before I die I'll get back to Ca but I got a couple decades left in me. I got a piece to release Monday that explains a little better than this long ass book of a response what we're dealing with at the moment. Or have been dealt I should say.

Got a couple stops coming up, we'll give a couple more places a chance but yeah, we've been looking back over there again recently. Damn UK looked at me like "nope! Don't let the door hit you on the way back wherever tf you're going!"

Well, just a little bit of looking, and I found this reply you were talking about, that I ignored.

I've known a lot of people who LOVE living in North Carolina, most of them around the Asheville area, some of them around the Charlotte area. I've always enjoyed the state myself, but never spent any significant time there. I do know a few people living there right now, so if you have any specific questions, let me know and I could pass them along.

Since you're only looking to park for 10 years, I assume you're not getting a traditional mortgage? Some of the basics of a home, like plumbing and electrical, you'll want to look at differently depending on whether you plan to stay, sell, or rent the place later on.

What as far as plumbing would I want to look at differently? Electrically, you mean age, methods, and panel size or something else?

I say 10 years cuz I think we could accomplish a lot in that amount of time mainly equity. So even in a traditional 20% down mortgage, sell the joint, get something else—rinse repeat. Do I have the wrong intentions?

We always liked Asheville too. Too far from the sea though to call home. Know anyone on the coast in Wilmington or at least nearby, maybe between Leland and Jacksonville but not as north as Virgina? I'd like to know what someone familiar with that area thinks. The do's and dont's cuz every big city has them.

Much thanks man.

With the plumbing you'd want to look at things like how deep the well is, how old and what style pump it has, or if the place is (or could be) hooked up to municipal water. Because you're looking in the south, you'll also want to get an idea of how likely the pipes are to freeze, if winter keeps dipping further south.

I think the people I know down there right now are all further inland, but I'll ask around.

Oh yeah, before I forget, have you thought about appealing your application for UK residency? Sometimes, countries (like the US) treat applications for residency like insurance claims... denied the first time through, no exceptions.

I see no problem with your 10 year plan, but if you already know you plan on selling a place 10 years out, I'd recommend looking for a fixer-upper that just needs the kind of maintenance you're likely to run into 10 years down the road anyway... things like minor roof and gutter repair, or other cosmetic issues. This will save you a lot of money in your purchase cost, and every dollar you put into fixing it up will directly add to your equity.

Thanks dude. Cosmetic and new roofs are the first things I see. Those houses are always 20-30k more. I read two times today realtors said 'buyers market.' Haven't heard that term in a long time. That and homeowners are beginning to assist with closing costs again.

Any feedback would be nice, much appreciated.

Am I naive thinking homes in a city the size of Wilmington are all on Municipal water? Or am I mistaken and Wilmington isn't the size city I think? I've never had a well in my life! I wouldn't know where to start. Now you got me nervous about frozen pipes too. Shouldn't there be a ball park construction age of the home that'll erase that possibility? I'm soooo California!

Visa. Check this out. £5k and separate from Pura for 32 weeks to return to US for biometrics, forfeit my passport, while she stays here to maintain council tax so I can prove I have somewhere to go is just the beginning. 8 months distance while she makes appointments by herself, here, away from everything. I refuse to do that. Two rents in two countries during the process is a helluva price tag too. Asylum seekers are priority right now.

Attorneys here aren't like attorneys we're accustom to. Our idea of an attorney is a law breaker with loop holes as leverage. Here, exact opposite. Attorneys here follow the law strictly and it's their job to keep loop holes shut.

Spain is €150 with a 7-10 day processing time.

So, none of the people I know are currently living in the area, but one of my work/music friends lived in and around Wilmington for 15 years. He says the best small town near the city is Burgaw, and that the whole area is wonderful. He kinda started talking about it so much I tuned him out, so let me know if you have any specific questions, or if you're looking for a realtor in the area.

Personally, I'm hoping you guys find something in Spain. Watching all the crazy bullshit sort itself out in the USA will be a lot more fun from the other side of an ocean :D