You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Good The Bad And The Urinals

This reminds me of the time (2011) I was on a small A2-A2 Jersey Dairy Cow in Santa Rosa, Ca. Our French Freedom Fighter meat chickens were ready for harvest but since, supposedly, I was the main care taker and loved the birds too much; I had leave the farm for a vacation to Las Vegas, NV to see Dj Icey.

I had not been to Vegas in years at that point. After landing I waited at a bus stop for a friend. While waiting over near the Popeyes chicken on Trop and maryland, this guy took his whole meal and threw it in the street and started cursing at narrowly missing cars too. I remember noticing a lot more trash after that moment in time.

Yeah, being a stagehand in vegas I have seen so much trash but I am often in back alleys, back parking garages, and trying to blend in. The trash has gotten worse over the years. The desert is like one huge dumping ground. One time I (we) found a newspaper from 1969 and it was the man on the moon cover!

Anyways, I am glad you are traveling safe and enjoying your time out there!

Sort:  

You just sparked a lot. Icey! Man I haven't thought about him in probably two decades. He was doing breakbeats before breakbeats were a thing. Never got to see him live though. I'll be attaching a track after this, looking forward to finding one I remember.

Trop. When Javonne Walker got traded from the Pack to the Broncos around 2005'ish he got jacked right there on Trop and Maryland (at a Terribles if I'm not mistaken). They got him for 100k or something crazy like that just in jewels.

That and my favorite dive bar like fav-fav in all Las Vegas (you've seen it) was right there on Maryland—Ellis Island. I still remember my bartender—Kimmy. She ended up marrying an iron head.

Thanks for the memories. And thanks for the curation, much appreciated. Alleys, back door entrances, sure. Here, dude everywhere's an alley here.

If I wanted to and you wife allowed it, we could chit chat for hours. So I went silent on ya for a day to study but yet I barely studied and more worked in the garden😅

You know Ellis Island is on Koval across from what used to be Ballys. Most everyone I knew went to Ellis for the karaoke and cheap beer but I was the stay at home pot head. Although, I would go to the Rum Runner to habg out with friends occasionally.

This quote reminded me of a time in San Francisco:

Recently, at the train station in Leeds, I asked an attendant why there's no trash cans rubbish bins and was told for security reasons. Whatever the reason, they're hard to find. She said "leave your rubbish on the bench, an attendant will be by later to sort it."

I used to hang out with this guy in North Beach SF. He was a Vietnam Vet who rose the flag out front of the 666 church(The famous church joe DiMaggio and Marilyn Monroe took wedding photos at) every morning. Well, one morning a Vietnamese homeless person (just ironic how he was Vietnamese is all) started taking the recycling cans out of the bins at the park. Man my buddy went off on him. Went on about city taxes funding the park etc. Those bins did attract lots of homeless people for their recycling.

I can only imagine in the UK there would had been lots of machete and knife attacks over Newcastle bottles.

...there would had been lots of machete and knife attacks over Newcastle bottles.

That's funny.


Koval! Correct. Touché. Maryland runs perpendicular to Koval. But I remember Kimmy! I miss Ellis Island. Koval and Sahara, right?

Do you know Summerlin well? That's where I was staying. We had a dope ass spot there; in ground pool, jacuzzi, swim up bar, a fitter engineer owned it and rented me a room. I ended up getting two other wiremen rented rooms there. Oh man... Completely.Outta.Control.

Ellis was my favorite dive and Mr. D's on Rainbow and Oakey in Summerlin was my favorite quote, nice bar, end quote. The house was conveniently located in those fancy housing tracks right there one block west (toward Red Rock) of Rainbow.