You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Good The Bad And The Urinals

in #outofthinair2 years ago

Dropping litter was the kind of thing that would get the death stare from my mum when we were little. I don't know when children and young people stopped being trained to put it in a bin or take it home. We have a junction near here, just on the edge of the built up area and it is covered in litter - some bell must ring in people's heads to tell them to throw their litter out of the car at that very spot. I have done litter picking jaunts there, but never seem to get it clear.

Sort:  

Good morning Shanibeer. Between me and you, it's just us here, right? I was kinda hesitant with this one not wanting to hurt anyones feelings. I mean, you know how sensitive Brits are. =•}


Unfortunately, it's pretty bad here. Whatever it is, sure does look like a lack of respect to a couple foreigners. Not necessarily for each other but undoubtedly for their country. Don't you guys have community service?

NEED MORE CRIME THEN!

<3

Really, I don't understand it. I guess I should ask more often in an interested kind of way. I did pick up a bag one day and hand it to the person who had just let it slip from their hand, saying, "you dropped something". They looked so confused. It's daft that we have volunteer groups of litter pickers clearing green spaces. Actually, we do have regulations about litter dropping, I think there are on the spot fines, but the people charged with implementing it are subject to a lot of abuse and regarded as pariahs. I imagine it's a difficult job to fill. We do have street cleaners here, they come out in the evenings, and I've seen pressure jets in use to clear gum from pavements (they never keep up with the tide).

More than two million pieces of litter are dropped in the UK every day. Yes, apparently, there are fixed fines of £150 for dropping litter, rising to £2,500 if prosecuted.

2 million?? I don't know much about real estate but that's a lot.

I'll take your word for it on street sweepers. Certainly they're somewhere, I just haven't seen or remember seeing any. London I'm sure has them but the streets there aren't much different.

With all due respect; where I'm from, with this much garbage and shit and butts and.. on the streets it means you're in the hood. Like, hood-hood as in don't go there—lock your doors, frequent ghetto bird patrols, hood. The first time we got to England back in 2019, maybe '18 I remember thinking we booked a stay in the hood.

Negative. The more we've explored, the more we realize it just is. Even gorgeous country like Brontë Falls in Haworth with streams and rock formations or the highest beach in England near Ilkley; if you saw a couple of Americans picking up trash, that was us!