Overlord Anime Season 4 Review

in #overlord2 years ago

Untitled-1.jpg

Image was taken from Overlord anime season 4 opening theme song Source


Introduction


Overlord is a very popular anime in which season 4 has just ended. If you are curious and want to learn more about this anime you can go to Overlord Wiki Fandom. It contains almost all the information regarding the anime, manga and light novel for Overlord. I may have to warn you that, in the site contains spoilers in which you may want or may not want depending on what type of person you are. Personally I don't mind knowing spoilers, it makes me want to know more if I get spoiled but that's just me.

Anyways when I heard that there was a fourth season of Overlord I was ecstatic. Overlord is one of my top favorite anime. I am quite a huge fan of this anime that it made me even read the light novel just because I couldn't wait what would happen next. Anyways I wouldn't call myself an expert when it comes to this anime series just because I read the light novels but I am pretty sure I know some stuff. I say that because I am the type of person who reads and forgets hahah sad life.


Overlord Season 4 Review


As a person who reads the light novel of the anime I am honestly quite having mixed feelings on season 4. First an foremost I feel like the season was rushed. I was even shocked why they jumped to the Re-Estize Kingdom Arc after the Dwarven Kingdom Arc side story, where is my Holy Kingdom Arc?!?!?!?!? Still I continued watching the anime as it unfolds. After finishing the whole season and researching for a bit that I understood why they skipped the Holy Kingdom Arc altogether. A new Overlord movie is coming and the story will be the Holy Kingdom Arc. To be honest I am not happy with the Holy Kingdom Arc being a movie coz I know it will only be a 2 hour movie and I feel like a lot of the juicy details on the Holy Kingdom Arc will be skipped yet again but oh well.

I can't really blame them for rushing the story since they only have a limited number of episodes, 13 episodes to be exact, per season. I really wish they made it to 25 episodes each season as to not skip a lot of the details just like the anime Re:Zero. I really feel people who only watch the anime and read the manga of Overlord are missing on a lot of stuff really. Still I see the reactions of the people in the comment section of each episode of Overlord Season 4 and most people loved it which I do on some parts.

That is not to say I didn't like the Season 4 totally. Some fight scenes were great especially the fight with Ainz Ooal Gown vs The Martial Lord Go Gin. Seeing Ainz fight mano a mano for a second time is really great. Again some details were skipped but it was still a great fight overall. There is also a very epic fight scene in season 4 that I really wanted to see animated and it really didn't disappoint. The fight between Shalltear Bloodfallen vs 50,000 Quagoas, Shalltear has redeemed herself from her blunder way back in season 1. This fight scene is epic for me because of the piles of bodies, innards and a pool of blood which really befit Shalltear Bloodfallen's name to a tee. Unlike Ainz Ooal Gowns Massacre in Season 3 which lacks the gore that I look forward when seeing a massacre, season 4's Shalltear Bloodfallen Quagoa massacre is many times more juicy but that's just for me.

Another disappointment for me was the fight scene between Ainz Ooal Gown vs Riku Aganeia, the fight between these two sounded so epic in the light novel but quite disappointing in the anime. Again it was rushed and skipped the juicy details on the fight. I couldn't feel any excitement while watching their battle unfold in the anime. Don't get me wrong, it's not because I know more details in the fight that is why I felt disappointed. To be quite honest, all of the fights scenes so far were far from perfect and yet some fight scenes were great and epic. It is not just the fight details but also the animation as well.

Shocking part of season 4 was when Princess Renner sang a song, similar to a Disney Princess, after all her plans have worked. It was not in the light novel which was a shocker but the fact that it happened after sacrificing everything and a lot of people for the person she love was great! It seems I have found a second love in Princess Renner, I say second coz Yuno Gasai is still the love of my life. What can I say I love crazy women lol


Final Thoughts


Even though there were some disappointing scenes, I would still rate Overlord Season 4 as a 4.7 out of 5 in my book just because I love the whole series. I hope there would be a season 5 but I doubt it, because Overlord is ending soon on light novel Volume 17. I am currently reading light novels Volumes 15 and 16 which was released a few months ago. To be honest I've already done reading Volume 15 and doing Volume 16 right now. I was planning to make a light novel review on Volume 15 but since both Volume 15 and 16 are a 2 part Volumes then I'll just do a review on both at once.

I feel like the author Maruyama Kugane is rushing to end Overlord so soon. It's not like I don't feel sympathy to the guy for all the things he has been through. His light novel might have had a manga and anime adaptations but the support for the author is lacking. If I had the money I would definitely support him as he was the brains behind Overlord. I just hope someone will continue the story on his behalf and make it as interesting as he does. Anyways that is all for my review and I hope y'all are having a great day!


About Me


pinkhub_pic.jpg

I am PinkHub a certified Pinkaholic. Living in the province of Cebu in the Philippines. I am an aspiring Photographer and a Noob Blogger. I love to take photos of the sun whether sun rise or sun sets. The same goes for the sea, wildlife, insects, trees, plants and nature as a whole. I also like to do some traveling in the future as well. I'm an open-minded person so if you have any tips you can give me then just go ahead and throw it all at me in the comments. I welcome all comments good or bad with open arms and legs 😁




Face your problems, but if the problem is your face. Worry not I can edit 😇

pinkhub-watermark.gif

Sort:  

I am currently at episode 6. On the first until third, I was excited to finish it all in one sit but this one, I dont know. I feel like everything is fast and I find ir a little boring. But I will still finish it off course. Hope I enjoy it on the next episode.

I feel like everything is fast

That is true, coz they have to fit a lot of stuff in just 13 episodes. Like what I said they have skipped a lot of the juicy details which makes Overlord what it is. Overlord is suppose to be somewhat like a comedy routine for Ainz coz he has been portrayed as the absolute ruler who plans 1 million steps ahead and is never wrong but in reality Ainz just want to make the NPC's happy and have been struggling to keep it together.

Especially during the battle with the Martial Lord Go Gin and Ainz there was suppose to be a very very funny part there with Jircniv (the emperor of Baharuth Empire). In the light novel it had me cracking but in the anime they made it into something so serious lol.

I'm happy for your comment coz now I know it was not just me who feels like they have rushed the anime, and truth be told it does feel kinda boring. Just continue watching it and you might change your opinion of it near the end 😁

!discovery 25

You're welcome to share future reviews on Anime Realm.
Not much could be done about 3 volumes per season, there's too much content to animate with only few animators to work with. They're rushing to deliver a product under high demand else risk losing it's relevance after a long time gap. Something like No Game No Life suffers, eventually people move on and stop asking.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

I didn’t know you read ang watched this anime, @pinkhub. It’s been on my Netflix feed but I didn’t give it much thought. Maybe when my mood changes, I’ll try to watch it. But yeah, maybe I will not be so disappointed like you because I don’t have to compare it to the manga. Sucks to miss the juicy details but sometimes that happens.

Hope you will consider posting to The Anime Realm community next time!

!PIZZA

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wittyzell(1/15) tipped @pinkhub (x1)

Join us in Discord!