I paint plastic toy soldiers! #12

in #painting6 years ago

Hello and welcome to another miniature painting post! I haven't posted one in awhile but I hope you've been enjoying the photos from my travels. Today I'll show another paint job I did some years ago. Far from my best but it is out there. This is the Bound by Law starter set from the game Malifaux. My last few posts have been covering this game and this was from the same big commission. Also my best friend is the artist that drew the concepts for these miniatures. (Something I learned after I've painted them) 


  

Bound By Law



First off is the leader of the group Lucius. These models turned out very shiny because of the ink washes. The plan was to use a matt varnish afterwards but I couldn't find one that worked in Bulgaria unfortunately. 


Captain Dashel is the one model that looks quite different than the rest of the crew. Unlike his subordinates in this set which all look like aristocrats from a different era, he somehow reminds me of a someone living up in a forest, chopping wood. 


Those two aren't named characters. They are put down simply as 'Guild Lawyers'. 


And these are the Guild Guards. 

I had a lot of fun with these models but they are part of the reason I don't use ink washes anymore. The glow is something I couldn't get rid off easily while I was living in Bulgaria. Just couldn't find the right matt varnish even though I tried many different brands. The techniques I've used on these are simple layering after washes are applied. Nothing too fancy since it wasn't a display quality commission but each and every character is quite unique. Since painting characters is probably my favourite thing it was one of my most enjoyable commissions. 

   

Sort:  

The first masked guy looks like a super villain from the Fantastic 4 (Or maybe not, my eyes are failing me).
Don't remember his name :P

I don't even know If I've watched the fantastic 4.. :D

И всичките тези фигурки ти си оцветявал!
Сигурно е било голямо удоволствие.
Едно време си спомням, че освен различните колекции, имах и една от метални войни от яйцата.

И аз имах колекция от най-различни играчки от шоколадови яйца. :)