I Paint Plastic Toy Soldiers!#13

in #painting6 years ago (edited)

I have no idea when and why I changed the name to this type of blogs to Painting Miniatures but I  very much prefer this one.. It was a joke we used to have with the group I was playing, that isn't really a joke. 


As for today's post - This is a Carnosaur from Warhammer Fantasy Lizardmen army. It is one of the projects I haven't really finished yet. It does have a rider on top which I've already painted but I still need to finish the "saddle" (little stone construct with big horns on the sides and some ornaments), touch the base a little bit and the Carnosaur himself.. I don't know why I rushed with this one so much and used an old technique I used often to speed paint my commissions. Anyways here it is:

Teh Mighty Carnosaur


I really want to make the base a lot more jungly. Bought so many different terrarium synthetic plants to fill a whole drawer. I need to paint over them a bit though so they look more natural than what they do now. They are pretty shiny and it really shows they are plastic. I do have another big dinosaur to finish up that I bought off Ebay some time ago. I am planing play a lot more with the base making a custom one with a waterfall or something.. will definitely post the process once I get on that one. 

As for techniques I used here - it is the technique I've talked about quite a lot in my posts from before - over-spraying with a second colour over the black and then adding value colours to highlight. After this I glaze the surface with the main colour to create the transitions. Finally I come back to give final touches and highlights whenever needed and smooth some of the transitions if they are too rough. I still need to work on the contrast a bit and make some places pop up more. 

  

Sort:  

Hello friend, very good so far. I think what you need is another type of plants that is proportional to the size of the dinosaur. Apart from the fact that it looks natural, it also looks real. regards

I was thinking of getting bigger plants but I didn't want them to take too much of the attention from the model. I'll still be adding more to the base but I wanted it to stand out rather than be missed in between the plants around.

Solid work. I really like it. But to me it looks more like a forest than a jungle so far. Although I understand that you do not want to draw too much attention from the model as you stated in your comment. Anyway I think you should stay with this style as it is really great.

Thank you! I know it doesn't really look the way I was planning and I am going to add more.. made this a long while and since then I actually went to a jungle a couple of times so I have a better understanding as to what it should really look like. :)

Sick mini dinosaur. If me in my childhood got that figure I would be happy as hell :D

You and me both! Dinosaurs were my thing as a kid.. was hyped about creating my own encyclopedia.. :D

It's because we were dinosaurs in the past lives!

Много красива фигурка.
Ръчна изработка, в която влагаш и енергията си и настроението си.

Радва се , че ти харесва! :)

Looks spot on!

I fully support your hobby of painting plastic miniatures!