When the Wind Howls

in #palnet3 years ago

image.png

Daylight shines down softer than usual today. I look out over the sweet grass that softly dances as the wind gently strokes their tips with its icy touch, up in the soft blue sky, the moon still lingers in unannounced anticipation, almost lost in the unfamiliar background that lacks the comfort of darkness. How I wish you were here...

Me and you, we've walked across these pathways lined with thorny branches from fallen trees so many times in my head, while listening to my own two feet as the fall heavily next to tired breath with every step.

"I'll be fine, everything is going to be ok" I whisper to myself as yet another tear encapsulates the words and drags them into the dry soil long before they could be heard by the part of me that so direly needed to believe them.

You'd think that you'd find answers in the silence, yet no distance walked brings me a single step closer to peace, so I coil blistered hands around the sturdy stem of a worn down but eager pick-axe in stead. Acacia trees provide perforated shade over half dug trenches and exposed water lines, as it watches its thorns separate skin from flesh as I work this land of this country, a country that hardly needs me as much as I need to be here.

Applying antiquated effort to threadbare soil earns me no more than momentary equanimity, yet every time the wind howls it draws me right back to the absence of you ~

image credit

Sort:  

Sublime prose. You've got a poetic gift and have developed it well.

Thanks!

Thank you ever so much VC, you are always so kind in your feedback. Much appreciated!
Hope you are keeping well?

Hi Breezin! :) That was great! I wish you the bests! <3

Hey there Davood, it has been a while, great seeing you around!

Are you still on discord? I sent you some messages days ago :) Nice to see you here again my friend :)

I am my friend, but I hardly go on there anymore, I will check it as soon as I can

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more