Moving on // Avanzando

in #palnet3 years ago

What is not success is failure // Lo que no es éxito es fracaso

I came to the decision last night while at work that I am moving. I don't know where but I am going. It's not an easy decision but COVID restrictions have dried up the economy here and things have taken a turn for the worse and it's time to go. I'm not meeting the goals I set for myself when I moved to this town and anything other than success is failure.


The first local business to be crushed under the weight of the pandemic.

3C55BA316119499788690A2A2E58C920.jpeg

El primer negocio local que se ha hundido bajo el peso de la pandemia


Anoche, mientras estaba en el trabajo, tomé la decisión de mudarme. No sé a dónde pero me voy. No es una decisión fácil pero las restricciones de COVID han secado la economía aquí y las cosas han dado un giro para peor y es hora de irse. No estoy cumpliendo los objetivos que me propuse cuando me mudé a esta ciudad y todo lo que no sea éxito es un fracaso.


This business closed years ago but the vacant building is a constant reminder of the economic stagnation common in Wisconsin

4D261EBED18246E0923B4D96433D62F8.jpeg

Este negocio cerró hace años, pero el edificio en decadencia es un recordatorio constante del estancamiento económico común en Wisconsin


The economy has been bad but for more than a few months the economic situation has been rapidly deteriorating. If I said there was economic stability before COVID it would be a lie. We were lucky to have the handful of locally owned small businesses that propped up the community and though slow to give in, they are falling like dominoes with increasing speed. Just this morning while returning home from work I saw the bakery I frequent is for sale. I would buy a coffee from the gas station and then stop at the bakery for any random breakfast item to go with my coffee and it looks like that has come to an end. It wasn't unexpected, but as it is unwanted and unpleasant it has left me in somewhat of a bad mood.

No explanation needed.

D1E432CA7E0C4265A2C7BB61CEC8B6CD.jpeg

No hace falta a explicar nada.


La economía ha estado mal, pero desde hace más de unos meses la situación económica se ha deteriorado rápidamente. Si dijera que había estabilidad económica antes de COVID sería una mentira. Tuvimos la suerte de contar con el puñado de pequeñas empresas de propiedad local que apuntalaban la comunidad y, aunque tardan en ceder, están cayendo como fichas de dominó con una velocidad cada vez mayor. Esta misma mañana, mientras volvía a casa del trabajo, he visto que la panadería que frecuento está en venta. Me compraba un café en la gasolinera y luego paraba en la panadería para comprar cualquier cosa para acompañar mi café y parece que eso ha llegado a su fin. No ha sido inesperado, pero al ser algo indeseado y desagradable me ha dejado de mal humor.


It has been a long time since I have seen a travel agency in my state and this one was crushed under the travel ban.

62F237BF3091480DA296415B23B89892.jpeg

Hacía mucho tiempo que no veía una agencia de viajes en mi estado y esta fue aplastada bajo la prohibición de viajar.


One thing I didn't see coming was the reduced hours. In the beginning the closures began in a panic and everyone was afraid to die and left me alone covering their positions and shifts while they bought all the toilet paper and frozen pizzas. Then as they realized that bodies weren't piling up as expected, they slowly began to open, but laid off nearly half the workforce to prepare for the slowdown caused by the cessation of international business. It stayed like that until recently when I realized that my employer was hiring extra workers to make up for the large numbers of unemployed in our community. Couple that with working 6 days a week for part-time hours...well...it's obvious that when one lives here, this is as good as it gets and I cannot do it anymore. I cannot fail again.


Imagine hurdling countless impossibilities to make to the land of economic freedom only to be crushed under the weight of corporate interests during a pandemic.

BB3B3816A396411780349D41736E3773.jpeg

Imagínese superando innumerables imposibilidades para llegar a la tierra de la libertad económica sólo para ser aplastado bajo el peso de los intereses corporativos en una pandemia


Una cosa que no vi venir fue la reducción de horarios. Al principio los cierres empezaron con pánico y todo el mundo tenía miedo a morir y me dejaron solo cubriendo sus puestos y turnos mientras compraban todo el papel higiénico y las pizzas congeladas. Luego, cuando se dieron cuenta de que los cadáveres no se acumulaban como se esperaba, empezaron a abrir poco a poco, pero despidiendo a casi la mitad de la plantilla para prepararse para la desaceleración causada por el cese del negocio internacional. Así estuvo hasta que hace poco me di cuenta de que mi empleador estaba contratando trabajadores extra para compensar el gran número de desempleados en nuestra comunidad. Si a eso le unimos el hecho de trabajar 6 días a la semana a tiempo parcial... bueno... es obvio que cuando uno vive aquí, esto es lo mejor que se puede hacer y no puedo seguir haciéndolo. No puedo volver a fracasar.

I don't know what I'm doing... // No sé lo que estoy haciendo...

I've already made up my mind. I don't know how I'm going to do it but I have an idea when. I don't know where I'm going but I already have job offers. I'm halfway broke but I have a job. And I may not have much but I have enough. Clearly I've been in worse situations and this isn't one of them. Still, it's a HUGE decision to make. Let's hope for a more prosperous year because I have no idea what the fuck I'm doing.


I think I'm ready.

00F18565502E41498C0D30F20D0F782C.jpeg

Creo que estoy listo.


Ya me he decidido. No sé cómo lo voy a hacer pero tengo una idea de cuándo. No sé a dónde voy a ir pero ya tengo ofertas de trabajo. Estoy medio arruinado pero tengo trabajo. Y puede que no tenga mucho pero tengo lo suficiente. Está claro que he estado en situaciones peores y esta no es una de ellas. Aun así, es una decisión ENORME que hay que tomar. Esperemos un año más próspero porque no tengo ni idea de qué mierda estoy haciendo.

All content is the property of the author and may not be published or reproduced without prior written consent. // Todo el contenido es propiedad del autor y no puede ser publicado o reproducido sin el consentimiento previo por escrito.

Sort:  

Where do you think you’ll end up?

Hard to say. I could decide on a location tomorrow and be so put off by something that I end up a thousand miles away in another place.

Lo primero que debes hacer es calmarte lo segundo respirar para no caer en pánico, lo tercero ordenar lo que realmente tiene prioridad y valor, asumir que todo está en caos pero la buena actitud ayudará y lo más importante es estar en silencio y escuchar tu intuición, si la combina con lo que realmente quieres hacer esto te ayudará a salir con éxito, constancia y lucha... Por cierto, la fotos estas muy lindas a pesar del contexto ó sentimiento que tienen

No estoy en pánico, sino en un punto en el que me doy cuenta de que he esperado demasiado tiempo para tomar medidas. Todo parece estar en orden. Todo lo que tengo que hacer ahora es esperar el invierno.

Perfecto. feliz semana ✨

Good luck in whatever you do and wherever you end up. My family and I are currently looking for places to live a few years in the USA while trying to get passports. As we have no intention to make the USA our forever home, we only want to live somewhere with the highest possible local spending power.

Of course I'll have to visit my boyhood home and spend some months there, but we are thinking of buying a pontoon houseboat and trying to make a floating (illegal) restaurant somewhere. Curious to see where you end up and what kind of work you find. I think it's safe to say Indiana and Kentucky are not the best of choices. !wine


Cheers, @justinparke You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @nathanpieters.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 3/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 1.200 HIVE

I wanted to say North Dakota but Biden just EO’d the pipeline construction. We will see. Definitely the south. Somewhere....

Congratulations @nathanpieters! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 13000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 14000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Advanced posting
Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!